Quartet of drivers taste success at Bertil Roos Race Series opener

Images by John Twardzik, Bertil Roos Racing School

Quartet of drivers taste success at Bertil Roos Race Series opener

Four different drivers enjoyed the sweet taste of victory in the opening round of the 2019 Bertil Roos Race Series at Palm Beach International Raceway on March 17-18.

Phillip Jasper and Adam Colombo took home trophies from Group 1, while Seth Foley and Derek Jose (leading in photo above) earned Group 2 victories.

Jasper (No. 5) worked past pole-winner Nichols (No. 17) and went on to win Group 1 Race 1.

Tim Nichols, all-time wins leader in Bertil Roos Race Series history, started the first Group 1 race from the pole. But second-fastest qualifier Jasper worked his way past, into the lead and roared on to the victory.

Kirk Weatherman raced from fourth to the runner-up spot while Colombo beat out Nichols for the final podium spot.

Group 1 Race 2 podium (l to r) Phillip Jasper, Adam Colombo and Robert Pielsticker.

Colombo was not to be denied in the second Group 1 race, holding off Jasper for the race win, while Robert Pielsticker rounded out the podium finishers.

Jose won the pole for the first Group 2 race with the fastest qualifying lap at 1m36.31s, but he ran into trouble in the race, opening the door for Foley, who drove the No. 17 car to the victory. Geoff Valentino captured the runner-up spot and Glenn Brooks finished third.

Redemption was the theme for Jose, who rolled to the victory in the second Group 2 race. Foley finished second this time with Valentino third man on the podium.

Group 2 Race 2 podium (l to r) Seth Foley, Derek Jose and Geoff Valentino.

Jasper and Foley now are tied atop the driver standings with 46 points each after the first pair of races. Colombo is just two points back with 44, as Valentino (42) and Weatherman (40) round out the top five.

The 16-race series resumes May 5-6 with races No. 3 and No. 4 at Virginia International Raceway, Danville, Va.

To enroll in one race or multiple events, click here or call 1-800-RACE-NOW.