86th Le Mans 24H entry list revealed

86th Le Mans 24H entry list revealed

Le Mans/WEC

86th Le Mans 24H entry list revealed


The 60-car entry list for the 2018 Le Mans 24 Hours has been published and sees a revived LMP1 class headlining with 10 entries and a 30-30 split between prototypes and GTE.

In LMP1, two TS050 HYBRIDs from the Toyota Gazoo Racing factory team featuring two-time F1 world champion Fernando Alonso, will be joined by eight privateer cars, fielded by Rebellion Racing, Bykolles Racing team, CEFC TRSM Racing (running Ginetta G60s), SMP Racing and U.S.-flagged team DragonSpeed. DragonSpeed, winners of the European Le Mans Series LMP2 title last season, step up with a single LMP1 entry this year, and have added an LMP2 car to the world championship roster.

Californian Gustavo Menezes, 2016 WEC LMP2 champion, is a part of the Rebellion Racing effort with its pair of new ORECA-designed Rebellion Gibson R13s featuring a star-studded six-driver line-up.

At 20 entries (down from last year’s record 25), LMP2 is the largest class, with a mix of ORECA, Ligier and Dallara chassis all powered by the spec Gibson V8 engine that is standard for the class in the FIA WEC and European Le Mans Series.

The Anglo-American United Autosports team enters a pair of Ligier JS P217s, one featuring America’s Will Owen, and the other Action Express full-season entrant, former Audi LMP1 driver Filipe Albuquerque.

The Le Mans class-winning, Chinese-flagged Jackie Chan DC Racing return to the scene of its near overall win last year with a huge four-car entry.

17 GTE Pro cars, equivalent to IMSA’s GTLM cars, are listed as the “Battle of the Brands” gathers.

The Corvette Racing C7.Rs are listed once again, the factory team looking to return to their previous race-winning form.

Facing up to them though will be a trio of all factory-crewed Ferrari 488 GTEs , four cars each from Ford Chip Ganassi Racing and Porsche Team.

Aston Martin Racing and BW Team MTEK both enter brand-new turbo V8-powered cars, the new Vantage GTE and M8 GTE each equipping a two-car team.

The grid is completed by a 13-car entry of GTE Am cars with Aston Martin, Ferrari and Porsche all represented.

Keating Motorsport is entered with a Risi Competizione-run Ferrari 488 GTE that gained an auto-entry thanks to his performance in the 2017 North American Endurance Championship. IMSA Prototype entry JDC Miller MotorSports declined their auto entry and will not compete.

The 60-car grid was oversubscribed and three U.S.-based teams are listed as reserve entries: Double IMSA GTD champions and 2016 Le Mans GTE Am class winners Scuderia Corsa are fifth reserves with a Ferrari 488 GTE. Krohn Racing is the sixth reserve with its Ferrari and Brian Alder’s IMSA-entered Riley Multimatic Mk 30 Gibson LMP2 car is listed as the ninth reserve.

“The 24 Hours of Le Mans, the FIA World Endurance Championship and our continental series, the European Le Mans Series and the Asian Le Mans Series, are doing well, proof that Endurance is present in the world of motorsports,” ACO President Pierre Fillon said.

“I am very happy to see a plateau of 60 machines of such quality for the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Endurance radiates and continues to attract builders and teams from around the world, like pilots of all disciplines. All the ingredients that make up the DNA of our discipline will be gathered for this 86th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, which will, I am sure, be thrilling to follow and live for all endurance fans.”

Click here to view the complete entry list in PDF format.