V8 Supercar: McLaughlin wins as Tander runs dry

V8 Supercar: McLaughlin wins as Tander runs dry

Australian Supercars

V8 Supercar: McLaughlin wins as Tander runs dry


Scott McLaughlin grabbed a second victory of the Phillip Island V8 Supercars weekend when Garth Tander ran out of fuel within sight of the line in race three.

Fuel mileage was a concern for the whole field in the longer-distance race, and Tander’s Holden Racing Team Commodore got through the final corner of the race before coughing and slowing. Until then, Tander seemed to have broken McLaughlin’s challenge.

Tander had followed the Volvo past poleman Jamie Whincup when McLaughlin muscled his way into the lead on a spectacular opening lap, then leapfrogged ahead when they made their first pit stops.

McLaughlin charged back at Tander in the closing stages, trying multiple passing moves before a slight error with three laps to go gave Tander what appeared to be sufficient breathing space. That all changed as they accelerated towards the chequered flag, though Tander was still able to cross the line second.

Champion Whincup fell to fourth behind Mark Winterbottom during the second pitstops and was unable to get back on the podium despite his best efforts.

Shane van Gisbergen completed the top five, with Will Davison sixth in the Erebus Mercedes after being delayed in a congested pitlane as the second round of stops took place under a safety car.

Whincup’s Triple Eight teammate Craig Lowndes started only 15th, pitted for a fuel top-up at the end of lap one, lost more ground when he had to queue behind Whincup during the safety car pit stops, and eventually made it through to 10th.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Scott McLaughlin GRM Volvo 1h 13m 59.6921s
2 Garth Tander HRT Holden 0.4521s
3 Mark Winterbottom FPR Ford 4.9815s
4 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Holden 5.3950s
5 Shane van Gisbergen Tekno Holden 12.9998s
6 Will Davison Erebus Mercedes 16.3663s
7 Jason Bright Brad Jones Holden 20.0461s
8 Nick Percat Walkinshaw/HRT Holden 20.3995s
9 Michael Caruso Nissan Motorsport Nissan 21.3085s
10 Craig Lowndes Triple Eight Holden 22.3190s
11 Scott Pye Dick Johnson Ford 23.1899s
12 Rick Kelly Nissan Motorsport Nissan 26.1849s
13 James Courtney HRT Holden 26.6341s
14 Lee Holdsworth Erebus Mercedes 27.2660s
15 Todd Kelly Nissan Motorsport Nissan 27.6529s
16 Fabian Coulthard Brad Jones Holden 28.1221s
17 Chaz Mostert FPR Ford 28.8039s
18 Tim Slade Rosenberg/HRT Holden 29.9889s
19 James Moffat Nissan Motorsport Nissan 31.6076s
20 Dale Wood Britek/BJR Holden 40.9405s
21 Jack Perkins Schwerkolt/FPR Ford 41.2777s
22 Robert Dahlgren GRM Volvo 43.6639s
23 David Reynolds Rod Nash/FPR Ford 53.7289s
24 Russell Ingall Dumbrell Holden 1 Lap
David Wall Dick Johnson Ford Retirement


Pos Driver Points
1 Jamie Whincup 3094
2 Mark Winterbottom 2642
3 Craig Lowndes 2547
4 Shane van Gisbergen 2508
5 Scott McLaughlin 2295
6 Fabian Coulthard 2280
7 Chaz Mostert 2273
8 James Courtney 2265
9 Garth Tander 2064
10 Michael Caruso 1875


Originally on Autosport.com