Rosberg team wins opening X Prix of Extreme E Season 2

Charly Lopez/Motorsport Images

Rosberg team wins opening X Prix of Extreme E Season 2

Off Road

Rosberg team wins opening X Prix of Extreme E Season 2


Rosberg X Racing emerged the winner of the Desert X Prix in the Extreme E Season 2 opener in NEOM, Saudi Arabia.

Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky and Johan Kristoffersson were the victors in a Final of two halves fot the all-electric off-road series, as a red flag was brought out at the end of the first lap following a big accident for McLaren XE’s Tanner Foust, who in a bid for third place clipped the back of RXR’s Ahlin-Kottulinsky and rolled his ODYSSEY 21 on the opening lap.

The race resumed for a one-lap shootout, with the four teams released at intervals that matched how they had entered the Switch Zone.

X44’s Cristina Gutierrez attempted to close down Laia Sanz in the ACCIONA | Sainz XE Team car, while Kristoffersson closed the gap on the two Spaniards from third.

The RXR driver soon passed Gutierrez on the inside, setting his sights on Sanz. As the Desert X Prix entered its closing stages, Kristoffersson took a wide line into the second to last corner for an aggressive overtake on Sanz and secure a dramatic win ahead of ACCIONA | Sainz XE Team, with X44 completing the podium.

Chip Ganassi Racing came fourth having secured a spot in the Final with a win in Semi-Final 2, and McLaren XE finished fifth despite Foust’s crash, having made an excellent comeback from qualifying to win the Crazy Race.

“Every time we go for a race we have the aim to win, but the competition is so high this year, especially with McLaren coming in, which raises the bar even higher,” Kristoffersson said. “We learned quite a lot last year, but now things are even tighter we’ll have to work even harder. I’m just very happy to start off the season with maximum points.

“It was a bit tricky, the track rutted up quite deep, and neither me nor Mikaela have a lot of experience in the desert, but we worked hard and the team has done a fantastic job with analyzing the course and analyzing the other drivers. We worked to adapt and it was a good weekend.”

Johan Kristoffersson and Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky of Rosberg X Racing celebrate. Alastair Staley/Motorsport Images

Ahlin-Kottulinsky added: “I know that Johan is an amazing racer and the tactics this weekend were that if I wasn’t first out of Turn 1 it was just to make sure that the gap didn’t get any bigger. I knew that the 10 seconds he had to make up in the Final, he could make them up and it was exciting to watch. I was holding my breath at waypoint 22, but I was fully confident overall!

“This is my first win so of course it feels really great and even better to do it having just entered the team. There have been quite a few incidents out there and we managed to avoid that and keep the car in one piece, so it was a good weekend.”

Sanz said: “I think I did a good job, it was good but Kristoffersson is just too fast! But I think we must be happy with the result especially after a hard day yesterday and Carlos did an amazing job in the first lap and then things were much easier in the second one.

“On the red flag restart, at first, I thought this could not be fair because Carlos did a great job in the first lap and in the start. So I think Extreme E made a good decision in how they did the restart — it was the best solution.

“We saw today that we can fight to win races and this give us so much confidence and motivation. I knew last season and with taking part in the Dakar it would be a big help compared to last year in Extreme E where I started from zero. I’m happy with my improvements since then and also very happy to have such a good teacher in Carlos.”


1. Rosberg X Racing 27m08:453s

2. Acciona | Sainz XE Team +2.483s

3. X44 +5.807s

4. Chip Ganassi Racing +25.202s

5. McLaren XE, DNF


1. Rosberg X Racing, 30 points

2. Acciona | Sainz XE Team, 18

3. X44, 15

4. Chip Ganassi Racing, 12

5. McLaren XE, 10

6. Genesys Andretti United Extreme E, 8

7. XITE Energy Racing, 6

8. ABT Cupra XE, 4

9. JBXE. 2

10. Veloce Racing, 1

MX-5 Cup | Round 10 – Road America