Formula E adds Vancouver, Cape Town and Seoul for 2021/22 season

Simon Galloway/Motorsport Images

Formula E adds Vancouver, Cape Town and Seoul for 2021/22 season

International Racing

Formula E adds Vancouver, Cape Town and Seoul for 2021/22 season


Formula E and the FIA have revealed the provisional calendar for the 2021/22 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, featuring three new locations as part of a record 16-race season spanning 12 cities across four continents.

The calendar was ratified following the day’s earlier FIA World Motor Sport Council in Monaco, confirming the busiest season yet of electric racing.

Getting underway in late January, the season opener will once again take place under the stars of Diriyah, Saudi Arabia following last season’s inaugural night race. The Formula E grid will then head to Mexico City before visiting the first of three new cities with South Africa’s Cape Town — returning single-seater FIA world championship racing to the country for the first time since the 1993 South African Grand Prix.

China makes a return to the Formula E calendar in March 2022 before events in Rome and Monaco, with the race in the Principality moving from a bi-annual to an annual event.

Berlin, the only city to have featured in every season, takes its familiar place on the calendar in May followed shortly after by the second new venue with Vancouver, B.C., Canada.

Racing then heads to the Big Apple for a series of doubleheaders beginning with the New York City E-Prix, before two races at London’s ExCeL and a climatic doubleheader season finale in Seoul, utilizing a circuit incorporating the South Korean capital’s Olympic Stadium.

After two consecutive years of absence due to the global pandemic, Formula E plans a return of the Parisian race in 2023 for the arrival of Formula E’s Gen3 cars. The Paris E-Prix will move to a bi-annual event format, adapted to provide a new balance for the championship’s calendar.