Force India name disappears from F1

Image by Glenn Dunbar/LAT

Force India name disappears from F1

Formula 1

Force India name disappears from F1


The Force India name will officially disappear from Formula 1 in 2019 following the publication of the FIA entry list for next season.

Force India went into administration in July and was only rescued when a Lawrence Stroll-led consortium purchased the assets and re-entered the team as a new entry. In doing so, the new team was renamed Racing Point Force India, and next season will simply be known as Racing Point F1 Team, resulting in the disappearance of the Force India name that first debuted in 2008.

Other team name changes on the entry list see Ferrari being officially named Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow and Haas changing to Rich Energy Haas F1 Team as a result of sponsorship deals.

The 2019 entry list also includes numbers for almost all of the new drivers on the grid, with only Alexander Albon — confirmed on Monday by Toro Rosso — still to select his number.

Lando Norris will run No. 4 for McLaren, while George Russell is confirmed as 63 for Williams. Russell’s teammate Robert Kubica will race under No. 88, while Antonio Giovinazzi has selected 99.

Of the confirmed numbers, only Russell is using a new number in F1, with Max Chilton having previously selected 4, Rio Haryanto 88 and Adrian Sutil 99. Chilton and Sutil left F1 at the end of 2014, while Haryanto last raced in 2016, meaning all three numbers were available for 2019. A permanent number can be reallocated as long as it hasn’t been used in a race for two consecutive seasons.