Kurt Busch takes Talladega pole as SHR sweeps top four spots

Image by Kinrade/LAT

Kurt Busch takes Talladega pole as SHR sweeps top four spots


Kurt Busch takes Talladega pole as SHR sweeps top four spots


The first and second rounds of Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series qualifying at Talladega Superspeedway looked exactly the same for Stewart-Haas Racing.

Kurt Busch won the pole for the 1000Bulbs.com 500 with a lap of 195.804 mph. Busch’s teammates Clint Bowyer (195.301 mph), Kevin Harvick (195.186 mph) and Aric Almirola (194.571 mph) swept the next three spots.

Starting lineup

The group had filled out the same order in the first round of single-car qualifying.

“I’m shaking hands with the Mobil 1 guys right now — Doug Yates, and those guys build so much quality power and then when you have a technology partner like Mobil 1, and it plays out, and you see it in four Stewart Haas Fords, really happy I got the fast one,” said Busch.

“Thanks to Monster Energy and Haas Automation. We’re on the pole; this is my first restrictor-plate pole ever. Ever. It took me 20 years; I got one.”

The pole is Busch’s fifth of the season; he also started from the top spot at Texas, Michigan, Loudon and the Charlotte road course. While it’s the 27th of his career, Busch will start from the pole at Talladega for the first time.

Chase Elliott rounded out the top five at 194.397 mph.

The other Hendrick Motorsports drivers, Jimmie Johnson (194.172 mph), Alex Bowman (193.768 mph), and William Byron (193.768 mph) qualified sixth, seventh and eighth.

Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Kyle Busch (193.693 mph) and Denny Hamlin (193.380 mph) completed the top 10.

Four playoff drivers will start 18th or worse. Brad Keselowski clocked in 18th (191.900 mph) with his Team Penske teammates Ryan Blaney 19th (191.731 mph) and Joey Logano 22nd (191.386 mph). Penske enters Talladega on a hot streak having won at least once at the facility each season dating back to 2014.

Kyle Larson was the slowest qualifying playoff driver. Sitting 11th on the playoff grid, Larson will start from the 34th position following a lap of 188.731 mph.

David Starr was the only driver who failed to qualify for the race. Starr was attempting to qualify with Obaika Racing in what would have been the team’s debut race in the NASCAR Cup Series.

All results from qualifying are unofficial until post-qualifying inspection is complete.

UP NEXT: The 1000Bulbs.com 500 at 2 p.m. ET Sunday.