Twelve cars set for Bahrain WEC rookie test

Twelve cars set for Bahrain WEC rookie test

Le Mans/WEC

Twelve cars set for Bahrain WEC rookie test


The FIA WEC has released the provisional entry list for the upcoming post-season rookie test in Bahrain. It features 12 cars for the five available hours of track time on November 19 at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Within the list is Frenchman Thomas Laurent, who was previously confirmed with Toyota Gazoo Racing to make his LMP1 debut; he will be joined by full-time Toyota driver Mike Conway. In the test Laurent will complete a minimum of 30 laps in the No. 7 TS050.

Some established WEC names are scheduled to participate, including Olivier Beretta in an AF Corse Ferrari. India’s Mahaveer Raghunathan will test with G-Drive Racing, Konstantin Tereshchenko from Russia will drive TDS Racing’s ORECA 07, and Frenchman Gabriel Aubry will complete laps in the Signatech Alpine A470.

In LMGTE, AF Corse will run with Japanese gentlemen driver Ishikawa Motoaki from Japan with a Ferrari 488. Motoaki has experience racing with the team in GT3 in the Blancpain GT series.

More drivers will be announced closer to the date of the test, one of which is expected to be F1 star Fernando Alonso, after RACER exclusively announced his seat fitting with TMG.

In Porsche’s available 919 Hybrid, the yet-to-be-determined winner of the 2017 World Series FV8 championship will drive, therefore its occupant won’t be known until the morning before the test. That also holds true for the second- and third-place drivers in the V8 title race, who will be handed either an LMP2 or GTE drive depending on their position in the final standings.

The cars for the V8 drivers in GTE and LMP2 are also undetermined. The team that wins the GTE Pro title must provide a car for the third-place driver. And whichever team wins the LMP2 championship will test the second-place driver. Both class titles are still up for grabs.

MX-5 Cup | Round 2 – Daytona | Livestream