DTM: Wickens wins and takes championship lead

DTM: Wickens wins and takes championship lead


DTM: Wickens wins and takes championship lead


HWA Mercedes driver Robert Wickens claimed the DTM series points lead with a dominant victory in soaking conditions at Moscow Raceway.

After a safety car start, Wickens wasted no time in nailing an overtake on fellow Mercedes C63 driver and polesitter Gary Paffett at Turn 3 when the race got going before romping off into the distance to win by 10.955 seconds.

Paul di Resta finished second having also worked his way ahead of Paffett, who backed up his first podium of the season last time out at Zandvoort with third, 1.3s behind di Resta.

A downpour between qualifying and the start of the race mandated a safety car start.

Three laps behind the safety car was deemed sufficient, with Wickens (pictured) closely following in Paffett’s wake through the opening corners at the green flag before slicing up the inside of the Briton at the Turn 3 apex.

Wickens romped clear from there, and though di Resta slipped past Paffett before the halfway mark the Briton had no answer to Wickens’ pace, instead settling for second as Mercedes cars locked out the podium.

Canadian Wickens now heads the championship by three points from previous leader Marco Wittmann, who had a tough race, making up just one position in his Team RMG BMW to finish 19th.

Maximilian Gotz added an extra gloss to Mercedes’ showing, finishing fourth in his HWA C63 after holding off the leading Audi of Mattias Ekstrom and BMW’s Maxime Martin.

Jamie Green produced a late-race charge in his Team Rosberg Audi to claim seventh, right on Martin’s tail, ahead of fellow Audi drivers Edoardo Mortara and Timo Scheider.

Behind them, Felix Rosenqvist claimed the final point on his DTM debut in the second ART Mercedes.

Despite being overtaken by Mortara and Green, the Swede’s fine earlier pass on BMW driver Timo Glock was enough for those relegations to leave him in 10th, 1.177s behind Scheider.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Robert Wickens HWA Mercedes 42m29.196s
2 Paul Di Resta HWA Mercedes 10.955s
3 Gary Paffett ART Mercedes 12.293s
4 Maximilian Gotz HWA Mercedes 25.270s
5 Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi 25.874s
6 Maxime Martin RBM BMW 27.243s
7 Jamie Green Rosberg Audi 27.752s
8 Edoardo Mortara Abt Audi 30.108s
9 Timo Scheider Phoenix Audi 31.671s
10 Felix Rosenqvist ART Mercedes 32.848s
11 Timo Glock RMG BMW 35.243s
12 Adrien Tambay Rosberg Audi 36.197s
13 Nico Muller Abt Audi 38.287s
14 Augusto Farfus MTEK BMW 42.822s
15 Bruno Spengler MTEK BMW 44.030s
16 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 44.781s
17 Miguel Molina Abt Audi 46.951s
18 Lucas Auer Mucke Mercedes 49.944s
19 Marco Wittmann RMG BMW 50.288s
20 Antonio Felix da Costa Schnitzer BMW 51.313s
21 Martin Tomczyk Schnitzer BMW 59.926s
22 Tom Blomqvist RBM BMW 1m02.697s
23 Christian Vietoris Mucke Mercedes 1m07.259s
24 Daniel Juncadella HWA Mercedes 1m10.016s


Originally on Autosport.com