F3: Ilott tops Masters qualifying

F3: Ilott tops Masters qualifying

Formula 3

F3: Ilott tops Masters qualifying


Calum Ilott claimed pole position for the Masters of Formula 3 qualifying race at Zandvoort, just 12 thousandths of a second quicker than the opposition.

In the absence of Prema Powerteam, which dominated last month’s European championship races at the Dutch venue, the way was left clear for different teams to fight for glory on a circuit at which they have already raced this season, albeit with the need to adapt to control tire supplier Kumho’s rubber.

Run in dry and cool conditions, the half-hour session was largely dominated by the Motopark team. But Van Amersfoort Dallara-Mercedes driver Ilott, who had topped both Friday practice sessions, put in a lap with just four minutes remaining to top Joel Eriksson’s Motopark Dallara-Volkswagen.

F3 returnee Alex Albon was third, the GP3 title contender briefly quickest early on but lost out to the drivers on a second run later in the session.

Niko Kari continued the impressive Motopark pace by bagging fourth-fastest time ahead of teammate Guan Yu Zhou, while Pedro Piquet’s VAR Dallara-Mercedes rounded out the top six.

Seventh in the 16-strong entry was Sergio Sette Camara’s Motopark Dallara ahead of VAR’s Antoine Hubert, while Pau Grand Prix winner Alessio Lorandi led Carlin’s team by taking ninth-best time ahead of Mucke Motorsport driver David Beckmann.

Outside the top 10, Harrison Scott was 11th in the second Hitech GP car originally earmarked for Nikita Mazepin, with Colton Herta for Carlin 12th, bouncing back from an off in Friday’s free practice period.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Callum Ilott Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 1m29.820ss 1m29.820s
2 Joel Eriksson Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 1m29.832ss 0.012s
3 Alexander Albon HitechGP Dallara/Mercedes 1m29.849ss 0.029s
4 Niko Kari Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 1m29.928ss 0.108s
5 Guan Yu Zhou Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 1m30.045ss 0.225s
6 Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 1m30.069ss 0.249s
7 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 1m30.098ss 0.278s
8 Anthoine Hubert Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 1m30.189ss 0.369s
9 Alessio Lorandi Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 1m30.234ss 0.414s
10 David Beckmann KFZTeile24 Mucke Motorsport Dallara/Mercedes 1m30.450ss 0.630s
11 Harrison Scott HitechGP Dallara/Mercedes 1m30.807ss 0.987s
12 Colton Herta Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 1m31.198ss 1.378s
13 Sam MacLeod Fortec Motorsports Dallara/Mercedes 1m31.398ss 1.578s
14 Ricky Capo Fortec Motorsports Dallara/Mercedes 1m32.195ss 2.375s
15 Tom Randle Double R Racing Dallara/Mercedes 1m32.325ss 2.505s
16 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 1m32.408ss 2.588s


Originally on Autosport.com