MOTOGP: Iannone fastest as Ducati dominates Assen FP1

MOTOGP: Iannone fastest as Ducati dominates Assen FP1


MOTOGP: Iannone fastest as Ducati dominates Assen FP1


Andrea Iannone led a Ducati-dominated first practice session for MotoGP’s Dutch TT at Assen.

Iannone was at the top of the order for the bulk of the 45 minutes, and finished ahead of teammate Andrea Dovizioso, while Pramac satellite pair Scott Redding and Danilo Petrucci made it four Ducatis inside the top five.

Set to start Sunday’s race last as a penalty for his collision with Jorge Lorenzo at Barcelona earlier this month, Iannone was the first rider into the 1m34s bracket early in the session, which was run in dry conditions despite overnight rain, which is forecast to return over the weekend.

Iannone was displaced early in the second half by Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales and then with two minutes remaining by Petrucci, but his final lap of 1m34.349s was 0.226 seconds faster than Dovizioso’s late effort.

Tech3 Yamaha rider Pol Espargaro was third, just ahead of Redding and Petrucci, who set identical times 0.311s slower than Iannone.

Lorenzo claimed sixth, just ahead of teammate and 2015 Assen winner Valentino Rossi, who jumped up from 11th to seventh with his final lap.

Vinales wound up eighth in the tightly-packed field, with Iannone’s advantage over Dovizioso the biggest between any two riders in the top 13, ahead of Bradley Smith and Avintia Ducati’s Hector Barbera.

The leading Honda rider was world championship leader Marc Marquez in 11th, just ahead of Cal Crutchlow and Dani Pedrosa, all within one second of Iannone.


Pos Rider Team Time Gap Laps
1 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1m34.349ss 1m34.349s 18
2 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1m34.575ss 0.226s 17
3 Pol Espargaro Tech3 Yamaha 1m34.649ss 0.300s 19
4 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati 1m34.660ss 0.311s 18
5 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1m34.660ss 0.311s 20
6 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1m34.722ss 0.373s 18
7 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1m34.758ss 0.409s 21
8 Maverick Vinales Suzuki 1m34.759ss 0.410s 20
9 Bradley Smith Tech3 Yamaha 1m34.918ss 0.569s 19
10 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati 1m34.954ss 0.605s 18
11 Marc Marquez Honda 1m34.972ss 0.623s 18
12 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1m35.026ss 0.677s 18
13 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1m35.294ss 0.945s 18
14 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 1m35.365ss 1.016s 18
15 Michele Pirro Avintia Ducati 1m35.530ss 1.181s 17
16 Yonny Hernandez Aspar Ducati 1m35.672ss 1.323s 20
17 Eugene Laverty Aspar Ducati 1m35.989ss 1.640s 19
18 Jack Miller Marc VDS Honda 1m36.019ss 1.670s 17
19 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia 1m36.188ss 1.839s 19
20 Stefan Bradl Aprilia 1m36.284ss 1.935s 16
21 Tito Rabat Marc VDS Honda 1m37.850ss 3.501s 21


Originally on

MX-5 Cup | Round 2 – Daytona | Livestream