SCCA: Round 8 of the SCCA Western Conference Majors complete at Buttonwillow

SCCA: Round 8 of the SCCA Western Conference Majors complete at Buttonwillow

SCCA / SportsCar Magazine

SCCA: Round 8 of the SCCA Western Conference Majors complete at Buttonwillow


Round Eight of the SCCA Western Conference Majors Tour crowned another set of winners on Sunday following 20 lap races at Buttonwillow Raceway Park.

The completion of the weekend pushes the Conference Championship point battles to the Northwest for the final two event weekends at Pacific Raceways in Kent, Washington, and Portland International Raceway.

A windy, warm day at Buttonwillow hosted Sunday’s action.

Though the race was 19 laps long due to the time limit, the first 18 and 11/12ths of the Spec Miata race were just a set-up for the final corner. Dakota Dickerson chased Clement Lee’s No. 33 RM Autosport Mazda Miata for most of the middle stages of the race, just like Saturday’s battle.

With the white flag in the air, Dickerson chased Lee down the back stretch and carried his momentum through the final complex. With one turn to go, Lee moved to the inside to protect his position. Dickerson pulled his No. 8 Rush Motorsports Miata to the outside of the turn, taking the longer run around but carrying more speed on exit.

The two ran side by side to the checkered flag, with Dickerson getting a nose in front and holding it there across the stripe for the win.

GT-3 was a thriller as well. Saturday winner Wolfgang Maike and Scott Graham swapped positions, with Maike actually taking the lead when Graham accidentally flipped off the fuel pump switch down the straight in his No. 6 SCOS Orthopedics Mazda RX-7.

Back under power, Graham chased down Maike’s No. 15 Toyota/Red Line Oil Toyota Paseo and got back in front, able to hang on for the win.

The Western Conference returns to action on Memorial Day weekend at Pacific Raceways in Kent, Washington, for Rounds Nine and 10 of 12 on the season. More information, including results and interviews with each race winner from Buttonwillow, can be found at

Provisional race winners from Sunday are:

American Sedan: Christopher Qualls, West Los Angeles, Calif., Chevrolet Corvette
B-Spec: Eric Boucher, Auburn, Calif., Mazda2
E Production: Aaron Downey, Rosmoor, Calif., Mazda RX-3
F Production: Joe Huffaker, Petaluma, Calif., MG Midget
H Production: Jason Isley, Coto de Caza, Calif., Toyota Yaris
Formula 1000: John LaBrie, Draper, Utah, Phoenix Race Works F1K12
Formula Atlantic: Ed Lever, Bakersfield, Calif., Pro Formula Mazda
Formula Continental: Peter West, Malibu, Calif., Van Diemen RF05/Ford
Formula Enterprises: John Yeatman, Newcastle, Calif., Formula Enterprises/Ford
Formula F: Scott Huffaker, Menlo Park, Calif., Van Diemen RF97/Honda
Formula Mazda: Larry Mason, Burbank, Calif., Formula Mazda
Formula Vee: Tim Harris, Tustin, Calif., Mysterian M3/Volkswagen
GT-1: Frank Emmett, Pengrove, Calif., Chevrolet Corvette
GT-2: Michael Von Quillich, Pahrump, Nev., Dodge Viper
GT-3: Scott Graham, Irvine, Calif., Mazda RX-7
GT-Lite: Troy Ermish, Tracy, Calif., Datsun 510
Prototype 1: Jon Van Caneghem, Marina Del Ray, Calif., Elan DP02
Prototype 2: Jeff Shafer, Las Vegas, Nev., Radical SR3
Super Touring Lite: Thomas Lepper, Benecia, Calif., Acura Integra
Super Touring Under: Toby Larsson, Anaheim, Calif., BMW M3
Spec Miata: Dakota Dickerson, San Diego, Calif., Mazda Miata
Spec Racer Ford: Jake Pipal, Oakdale, Calif., Spec Racer Ford
Spec Racer Ford Gen 3: Mike Miserendino, Bakersfield, Calif., Spec Racer Ford
Touring 1: Marc Hoover, Shingle Springs, Calif., Mazda Miata
Touring 2: Christopher Qualls, West Los Angeles, Calif., Chevrolet Corvette
Touring 3: Tom Wickersham, Piedmont, Calif., Ford Mustang
Touring 4: Tom Wickersham, Piedmont, Calif., Mazda MX-5

Image: Scott Graham stayed in front for the GT-3 win.
Credit: Dennis Baer