Final Abu Dhabi GP grid lineup

Final Abu Dhabi GP grid lineup

Formula 1

Final Abu Dhabi GP grid lineup


Kimi Raikkonen’s exclusion from qualifying means a major shake-up for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix grid.

The Finn had qualified fifth, his best starting position since July’s German Grand Prix. But he will drop to the back as his Lotus failed the FIA’s mandatory floor deflection test.

That blow came amid a wild week for Raikkonen during which he openly admitted he had considered not turning up to race amid a pay dispute with his team.

Raikkonen’s demotion means Nico Hulkenberg’s Sauber now starts in the top five, behind the two Red Bulls and two Mercedes. The struggling Fernando Alonso’s Ferrari is elevated into the top 10 as a consequence, too.

Despite the FIA’s clampdown on track limit abuse this weekend, the only other qualifying penalty is for Jules Bianchi. His Marussia required a gearbox change following a practice three crash, earning him a five-place penalty.

Bianchi was 20th fastest, so with Raikkonen starting behind him, he only falls to 21st.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car     1.  Mark Webber          Red Bull-Renault 2.  Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault 3.  Nico Rosberg         Mercedes         4.  Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes         5.  Nico Hulkenberg      Sauber-Ferrari   6.  Romain Grosjean      Lotus-Renault    7.  Felipe Massa         Ferrari          8.  Sergio Perez         McLaren-Mercedes 9.  Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso-Ferrari10.  Fernando Alonso      Ferrari           11.  Paul di Resta        Force India-Mercedes12.  Jenson Button        McLaren-Mercedes  13.  Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso-Ferrari14.  Pastor Maldonado     Williams-Renault  15.  Valtteri Bottas      Williams-Renault  16.  Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber-Ferrari    17.  Adrian Sutil         Force India-Mercedes18.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham-Renault 19.  Jules Bianchi        Marussia-Cosworth20.  Charles Pic          Caterham-Renault 21.  Max Chilton          Marussia-Cosworth22.  Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus-Renault

MX-5 Cup | Round 1 – Daytona | Livestream