Da Costa takes second win of 2013

Da Costa takes second win of 2013

Formula 3.5 V8

Da Costa takes second win of 2013


Antonio Felix da Costa got his season back on track with his second Formula Renault 3.5 win of the year at the Hungaroring.

The Red Bull junior, who is trying to earn a Formula 1 graduation to Toro Rosso for next year, slipped from second to third at the start but took the lead during the mandatory pit stops.

With championship leaders Kevin Magnussen and Stoffel Vandoorne out front in the early laps, da Costa was giving chase and proved to be the quickest of the trio as they pulled away from the rest of the field. He then waited for both of the McLaren F1 juniors to pit to give him clear track, and he emerged from his own stop just ahead of them.

Magnussen attacked on the outside into Turn 2 but da Costa held firm, and from there he drove away to a comfortable winning margin of more than six seconds.

The battle for second remained tight between title rivals Magnussen and Vandoorne, but it was the championship leader who hung on to extend his gap back to the Belgian rookie in the points race to 46.

Behind the leaders, Nigel Melker capitalized on an early stop to vault up the order, converting 10th place on the grid into fourth by the finish. He was made to work hard for that position by Nico Muller in the closing stages, but the race one winner couldn’t quite find a way by and had to settle for fifth place.

Results - 28 laps:Pos Driver                   Team/Car           Time/Gap 1. Antonio F.da Costa       Arden Caterham     45m40.876s 2. Kevin Magnussen          DAMS               +6.547s 3. Stoffel Vandoorne        Fortec             +7.230s 4. Nigel Melker             Tech 1             +18.802s 5. Nico Muller              Draco              +19.128s 6. Andre Negrao             Draco              +22.016s 7. Marlon Stockinger        Lotus              +24.252s 8. Carlos Huertas           Carlin             +29.469s 9. Marco Sorensen           Lotus              +29.864s10. Oliver Webb              Fortec             +31.073s11. Norman Nato              DAMS               +44.567s12. Sergey Sirotkin          ISR                +44.871s13. Mikhail Aleshin          Tech 1             +51.204s14. Pietro Fantin            Arden Caterham     +51.949s15. Matias Laine             P1                 +52.844s16. William Buller           Zeta Corse         +53.228s17. Lucas Foresti            Comtec             +54.154s18. Zoel Amberg              Pons               +54.727s19. Christopher Zanella      ISR                +55.918s20. Jazeman Jaafar           Carlin             +58.007s21. Yann Cunha               AV Formula         +1m07.540s22. Carlos Sainz Jr.         Zeta Corse         +1m13.012sRetirements:        Daniil Move              Comtec             24 laps    Nikolai Martsenko        Pons R             22 laps    Arthur Pic               AV Formula         13 laps    Will Stevens             P1                 1 lap