Time for NASCAR's stars to shine

Image by Whitton/LAT

Time for NASCAR's stars to shine


Time for NASCAR's stars to shine


One driver and team will pocket $1 million Saturday night in the Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race.

Fifteen drivers are locked into the exhibition event, but the full field will feature 19 drivers. Three drivers will earn a spot in the main race by winning a segment in the Monster Energy Open, and another driver will take a spot courtesy of the Fan Vote.

A reminder of how the races work:

  • The Open is three segments split into 20 laps, 20 laps, and 10 laps. Once a driver wins a segment they will head to the garage.
  • The All-Star Race is four segments of 30 laps, 20 laps, 20 laps, and 15 laps. The final segment is five laps longer than last year and only green flag laps will count in the final segment.
  • NASCAR Overtime rules will be in effect for all the stages, and in the final stage there will be an unlimited number of attempts at a green-white-checkered finish.
  • Like last year, there are no mandatory pit strategy rules in play.
  • Eligibility for the race was earned through a race win in 2018 and ’19, being a past All-Star Race winner as well as a former NASCAR Cup Series champion.

Drivers locked in:

Aric Almirola (2018 fall Talladega winner)

Ryan Blaney (2018 Roval winner)

Clint Bowyer (2018 spring Martinsville winner)

Kurt Busch (2018 fall Bristol winner)

Kyle Busch (2017 All-Star winner; 2018 spring Texas winner)

Austin Dillon (2018 Daytona 500 winner)

Chase Elliott (2018 Watkins Glen winner)

Denny Hamlin (2015 All-Star winner; 2019 Daytona 500 winner)

Kevin Harvick (2007, ’18 All-Star winner; 2018 Atlanta winner)

Jimmie Johnson (2003, ’06, 12, 13 All-Star winner; 2016 series champion)

Erik Jones (2018 summer Daytona winner)

Brad Keselowski (2018 Darlington winner)

Joey Logano (2016 All-Star winner; 2018 spring Talladega winner)

Ryan Newman (2002 All-Star winner)

Martin Truex Jr. (2017 series champion; 2018 Fontana winner)

Newman is the only driver to win the Open race and the All-Star Race on the same night (2002). Kasey Kahne is the only driver to win the All-Star Race after earning a spot in the event through the Fan Vote (2008).

The cars for this weekend are also slightly different than what Cup Series teams have been running all season. NASCAR has implemented technical features officials are eying for the Gen7 race car: A single-piece carbon fiber splitter and radiator ducts that exit through the hood of the car.

IndyCar Debrief