Quality GT4 America Sprint, SprintX entry headed to Canada

Quality GT4 America Sprint, SprintX entry headed to Canada

SRO America

Quality GT4 America Sprint, SprintX entry headed to Canada


After a three-week absence, the Pirelli GT4 America Sprint and SprintX series return to action this weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Thirty-one teams have entered GT4 cars from 10 different manufacturers in the May 17-19 event which will feature four separate races, Sprint and SprintX double-headers.

The Sprint series features 50-minute races for a single driver; SprintX showcases two-driver, 60-minute races with pit stops.

SPRINT: In the Sprint series Pro division, Ian James (Team Panoz) and Gar Robinson (Robinson Racing) head to Canada tied for the lead in the driver’s championship with 68 points each. James’s Panoz Avezzano won Round 1 in St. Petersburg, while Robinson’s Chevrolet Camaro has four top-three finishes so far this season.

Three-time series champion Michael Cooper (Blackdog Speed Shop) won Round 2 at Long Beach in a McLaren 570S and and sits third in the points.

Also in the Pro division are Spencer Pumpelly (whose TRG The Racers Group Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR led flag-to-flag in Long Beach, Round 3); Robinson’s teammate Shane Lewis (Camaro); and Nicolai Elghanayan (in the unique Marco Polo Motorsports KTM X-bow).

The GT4 Sprint Am division is particularly hard fought this year, with the top five in the standings separated by just 11 points, Jarett Andretti (McLaren 570S GT4) a single point ahead of VIR double winner Matthew Fassnacht (Mercedes-AMG GT4), 51 to 50.

Third, fourth and fifth are Drew Staveley (Ford Mustang), Alan Brynjolfsson (Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR) and series veteran Tony Gaples (McLaren 570S).

Completing the field are Porsche drivers Jason Bell and Thomas Collingwood; BMW M4 driver Sean Quinlan; Frank Gannett (Ford Mustang; and Mark Klenin (McLaren).

SPRINTX: Several GT4 Sprint drivers will do double duty and co-pilot SprintX machinery on the CTMP weekend.

Porsche will be well represented in SpintX by several teams, notably NOLASPORT whose driving pair of Matt Travis and Jason Hart have dominated, winning all four SprintX contests to date.

NOLASPORT Porsche drivers Matt Travis and Jason Hart are four for four …

Others entered in Porsche 718 Cayman CS MRs are: Sean Gibbons/Derek DeBoer (TRG – The Racers Group); Stuart Briscoe/Andrew Davis (Kelly-Moss Road & Race); Thomas Collingwood/ John Tecce (BGB Motorsports Group); and Alan Brynjolfsson/Trent Hindman (Park Place Motorsports).

BMW M4s will be well represented also: Sean Quinlan and Gregory Liefooghe sit second overall in class championship points and will co-drive the Stephen Cameron Racing entry. Others BMW runners are: Chris Ohmacht/Toby Grahovec and Justin Raphael/Stevan McAleer (Classic BMW); James Clay/Randy Mueller (Epic Motorsports); and John Allen/Kris Wilson (Auto Technic Racing).

Other manufacturers with single-car Sprint X entries are: Anthony Geraci/Elivan Goulart (KRUGSPEED Ginetta G55); Jarett Andretti/Karl Thomson (Andretti Autosport McLaren 570S); Eric Palmer/Greg Palmer (Kelly-Moss/Photon Motorsports Audi R8 LMS); Preston Calvert/Matt Keegan (Team Panoz Avezzano GT); and Rich Golinello/Nate Stacy (Kohr Motorsports Ford Mustang).

GT4 classes get their first official track time starting with Sprint practice on Thursday at 5 pm. Qualifying begins Friday at 1:05 pm, with the first Pirelli GT4 America SprintX race set for a green flag at 5:30 pm on Friday.

All Sprint and SprintX races will be streamed live on gt4-america.com and via audio simulcast on SiriusXM satellite radio Ch. 383 (983 on the app). CBS Sports Network coverage for Sprint races at CTMP airs June 1 at 2:30 pm EDT, with SprintX coverage immediately following at 3:30 pm EDT. Check local listings for additional broadcast time and channel information.