2020 Hall of Fame nominees announced

2020 Hall of Fame nominees announced


2020 Hall of Fame nominees announced


The 20 nominees for the 2020 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class was announced Wednesday evening, and there are six new individuals on the list.

Revealed on “NASCAR America,” three-time Cup Series champion Tony Stewart headlines the group. This is Stewart’s first year of eligibility. Also new to the list are Sam Ard, Neil Bonnett, Marvin Panch, Jim Paschal, and Red Vogt.

With the addition of those six, Kirk Shelmerdine, who won four championships at Richard Childress Racing with Dale Earnhardt, was dropped off the list.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Sam Ard: Two-time Xfinity Series champion

Buddy Baker: Former Daytona 500 and Southern 500 winner with 19 career Cup wins

Neil Bonnett: 18 wins in the Cup Series

Red Farmer: Three-time Late Model Sportsman champion and the 1956 Modified champion

Ray Fox: former engine builder, crew chief and car owner

Harry Gant: 18 Cup Series wins, including two in the Southern 500

Joe Gibbs: Championship car owner in the Xfinity and Cup Series

John Holman: A two-time Cup Series championship co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

Harry Hyde: 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief

Bobby Labonte: former Xfinity and Cup Series champion

Hershel McGriff: 1986 NASCAR West Series champion

Ralph Moody: Two-time Cup Series championship co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

Marvin Panch: 17-time winner in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1961 Daytona 500

Jim Paschal: A 25-time winner in the Cup Series

Larry Phillips: Five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion

Ricky Rudd: 23-time winner in the Cup Series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400

Mike Stefanik: Nine-time NASCAR champion

Tony Stewart: Three-time Cup Series champion and two-time winner of the Brickyard 400

Red Vogt: Founding member of NASCAR and former mechanic

Waddell Wilson: Three-time Cup Series champion as an engine builder