IndyCar secures wide-ranging international broadcast deals

Image by IndyCar

IndyCar secures wide-ranging international broadcast deals


IndyCar secures wide-ranging international broadcast deals


INDYCAR Media, the in-house global distribution arm of international media rights for the NTT Data IndyCar Series, has secured deals for the 2019 season to be shown in approximately 100 nations.

Among the nations reaching agreements to broadcast IndyCar content in 2019 are Canada, the United Kingdom, Japan, Spain, Sweden, France, New Zealand and Brazil. A full list of countries and broadcast partners is below.

Canadian fans will be able to follow races and qualifying sessions on SN NOW+, Sportsnet’s direct-to-consumer platform. Additionally, all races except for the season opener (due to a scheduling conflict) will air in Canada on Sportsnet World, a Sportsnet linear television channel, with the Indianapolis 500 and Toronto also airing on linear television via the Sportsnet 360 and Sportsnet ONE channels, respectively.

In the United Kingdom, races, practices and qualifying sessions will air on Sky Sports F1. In addition to full-season coverage on linear pay television in Japan and Spain, the Indianapolis 500 also will air on free-to-air television in both countries with NHK and #Vamos (Movistar), respectively. IndyCar will expand into the Nordics in 2019, and races can be seen live on Viasat channels in Sweden, Denmark, Finland and Norway.

Rounding out the coverage, sports-only subscription video streaming platform DAZN will show races in Italy, Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Brazil.

“We are pleased to offer this great content to so many people around the world,” said Stephen Starks, INDYCAR vice president of promoter and media partner relations, in a statement.

“These deals represent partnerships between INDYCAR, the broadcast partners and the race fans they reach. We believe that through our media arrangements, more people around the world will now have the opportunity to see the NTT IndyCar Series as the fastest and most diverse racing series available and experience the international flavor of drivers such as five-time series champion Scott Dixon of New Zealand and the return of Fernando Alonso and McLaren Racing to the Indianapolis 500 in May.”

INDYCAR International Broadcasters for 2019

Territories, Channel(s) – Check local listings for channel information:

Africa – Sub Saharan (French language), Canal+

Africa – South Africa/Sub Saharan (English language), SuperSport

Asia – Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Hong Kong, Guam, Indonesia, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, North Korea, Thailand, Vietnam and Mainland China (English language), Fox Sports/Star Sports

Australia: Fox Sports (one-hour version)

Austria: DAZN

Brazil: Bandeirantes/Band Sports/DAZN

Canada: Sportsnet World and SN NOW+

Denmark: Viasat

Finland: Viasat

France: Canal+

Germany: DAZN

Ireland: Sky Sports F1

Italy: DAZN

Japan: Gaora

Japan: NHK (Indianapolis 500 only)

Myanmar: Canal+

Netherlands: Ziggo

New Zealand: Sky Sport

Norway: Viasat

Portugal: Sport TV

Russia: Match TV/TV4 (one-hour version)

Russia: Viasat Sport East

Spain: Movistar

Sweden: Viasat/TV3, TV10 (one-hour version)

Switzerland: DAZN (German language)/Canal+ (French language)

United Kingdom: Sky Sports F1

Vietnam: VSTV

Worldwide: Mobil 1: The Grid (featured in the weekly motorsports program)