Ocon, Magnussen disqualified from USGP for fuel violations

Image by Racing Point Force India F1

Ocon, Magnussen disqualified from USGP for fuel violations

Formula 1

Ocon, Magnussen disqualified from USGP for fuel violations


Esteban Ocon and Kevin Magnussen have both been disqualified from the United States Grand Prix for separate fuel infringements.

Force India was summoned to the stewards after the race as the FIA alleged Ocon was guilty of “exceeding the fuel mass flow during lap 1.” While team representatives were able to state their case, the stewards agreed with the FIA that the fuel flow limit had been exceeded, and excluded Ocon from eighth place.

Ocon’s disqualification would have promoted Magnussen to a provisional eighth, but the Haas driver was also excluded just a few minutes later for using more than the permitted 105kg during the race.

Both teams are able to appeal the ruling if they wish under the FIA International Sporting Code.

Image by Hone/LAT

The exclusions are the first for fuel-related issues since the first race of the V6 turbo hybrid era, when Daniel Ricciardo lost second place at the 2014 Australian Grand Prix for exceeding fuel flow limits.

Speaking before confirmation that Ocon would be thrown out, Force India team principal Otmar Szafnauer said no advantage had been gained.

“What happened was, there was a spike of flow and then a trough,” Szafnauer said. “So if you look at it over a lap it was neutral. If you look at it over a lap there’s no infringement.

“For example, there’s track limits and if you go outside the track limits — which you shouldn’t do — and you haven’t gained an advantage they do nothing. If you haven’t gained an advantage, they do nothing. This is another limit where we haven’t gained an advantage.”

As a result of both disqualifications, Sergio Perez is promoted to eighth, Brendon Hartley earns an F1 career-best ninth for Toro Rosso and Marcus Ericsson scores the final point in tenth.