Mazda champions crowned in SCCA Mid-States Conference

Mazda champions crowned in SCCA Mid-States Conference

Mazda Motorsports

Mazda champions crowned in SCCA Mid-States Conference


The Mid-States SCCA U.S. Majors Tour wraps, with eight Mazda drivers clinching title positions

The Mid-States Conference of the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour wrapped up its season with a finale at High Plains Raceway, the second race at the Colorado track for the Conference, which also included Hallett, Heartland Motorsport Park, Iowa Speedway and Pueblo Motorsports Park. When the final points were tallied, eight Mazda racers became conference champions.

Rayce Dykstra is splitting his time between the Formula Car Challenge and Spec Miata, but that hasn’t stopped the teenager from Littleton, Colo., from finishing on the podium in all but one of eight Mid-States races, winning two of them. That put him well clear of John Harms, who ended the season strong despite his rough start to the season at Hallett. Traci Shwartzbauer was third in the standings.

Mazda racers took both E and F Production titles, with Jesse Prather claiming E Production in his first-generation RX-7 – the same one he drove to a podium finish at the 2017 SCCA National Championship Runoffs. Because of the large geographic area of the Mid-States Conference, drivers tend to stick to either East or West, and Prather only met his closest rival for the title once, at Pueblo, where he took both races. In F Production, it was all Mazda drivers – mostly Miatas, with one lone 626 driver in the mix – so it was a lock for a Mazda championship. There, Bill Hingston took the title over Sam Henry, although the two never raced head-to-head all season. Instead, Hingston was usually racing against Paul Jensen and his Miata. Hingston took most of the contests, but Jensen did claim a win and finish third in the conference standings.

Read the full story at