Harvick among four that fail Pocono inspection more than once

Image by Jarrett/LAT

Harvick among four that fail Pocono inspection more than once


Harvick among four that fail Pocono inspection more than once


Thirteen drivers had their qualifying times disallowed at Pocono Raceway after failing post-qualifying inspection.

Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch each lost their front row starting spots, giving Daniel Suarez the pole. Busch will start 28th and Harvick 29th, respectively.

Behind them will be Joey Logano, Clint Bowyer, Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Aric Almirola, Jimmie Johnson, Paul Menard, Austin Dillon, William Byron, Darrell Wallace Jr., and Kasey Kahne.

Additionally, Harvick was one of two drivers who had his time disallowed, car chief ejected and will lose 10 championship points for failing three times. Kahne was the other driver.

Menard and Logano also had their car chiefs ejected as their cars failed twice.

“Most of the problems were centered around the body scan, but not all, some were mechanical measurements with the rear toe,” NASCAR senior vice president of competition Scott Miller said. “We’re disappointed in this, but we’re certainly confident in our process.

“The teams didn’t do a real good job here today. If 27 of them can do it right, the other 13 can do them right.”

Daniel Suarez, who was third fastest, and Denny Hamlin, who originally qualified seventh, were the only two in the first seven cars to pass inspection.

Starting lineup

This is just the second time this year NASCAR has had a two-day Cup schedule, meaning NASCAR did not put the cars through tech before qualifying. Only three cars failed at Chicago, the first weekend using that procedure.

“Three failures at Chicago, equated to ‘we need to get more aggressive,’ and more aggressive didn’t cut it today for them,” Miller said.

This is what the first post-qualifying inspection line produced:



Daniel Suarez Kevin Harvick
Martin Truex Jr. Kyle Busch
Denny Hamlin Kyle Larson
Ross Chastain Joey Logano
Ty Dillon Austin Dillon
Matt Kenseth Bubba Wallace
JJ Yeley William Byron
Michael McDowell Jimmie Johnson
Matt DiBenedetto Paul Menard
Erik Jones Aric Almirola
Alex Bowman Kasey Kahne
Ryan Newman Clint Bowyer
Reed Sorensen Ryan Blaney
Brad Keselowski
AJ Allmendinger
Jeffrey Earnhardt
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Chris Buescher
Jamie McMurray
Corey LaJoie
Landon Cassill
David Ragan
Chase Elliott
Kurt Busch
Kyle Weatherman
Timmy Hill
Gray Gaulding


IndyCar Debrief