Dickerson takes lead in F4 U.S. Championship after mid-season event

Dickerson takes lead in F4 U.S. Championship after mid-season event

North American Racing

Dickerson takes lead in F4 U.S. Championship after mid-season event


Three events down. Three different point leaders. The competition in the third season of the Formula 4 United States Championship Powered by Honda is closer than any previous season- which became even more evident after the qualifying session at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, when the top-14 times were separated by less than a second and a record-breaking 15 competitors scored points during the mid-season event June 29-July 1. While some of the same faces have topped the podium, not one driver has pulled away in points.

After securing his maiden victory at Mid-Ohio, Dakota Dickerson of San Diego now leads the championship in points, reigning over former points’ leaders Christian Rasmussen (second) and Benjamin Pedersen (third). While both Denmark-natives are the only F4 U.S. drivers with multiple wins this season, Dickerson’s success climbing the points ladder rests in consistent performance. The sophomore F4 pilot visited the podium seven of the nine rounds this season and completed the other two rounds in the top-five.

“The DC Autosport guys put in a lot of work to get us up front and I’ve tried to stay consistent throughout the year because consistency wins championships,” said Dickerson. “We are stronger than ever, and I know more wins are in the future for us.”

While James Raven of Portsmouth, England, laid down great results at Mid-Ohio, closing the weekend with a podium and two fourth-place finishes, the DEForce Racing rookie dropped from third to fourth in the championship. However, with a triple round of third-place finishes Teddy Wilson of Holbeach, England, jumped from eighth to fifth in the championship after the mid-season event.

Jose Blanco of San Juan, Puerto Rico, Joshua Car of Sydney, Australia, Austin Kaszuba of Burleson, Texas, Jacob Abel of Louisville, Kentucky, and a tie between Jacob Loomis of Corinth, Texas, and Braden Eves of Gahanna, Ohio, round out the top 10.

Jack William Miller of Westfield, Indiana, Sam Paley of Cincinnati, and Vincent Khristov of Delray Beach, Florida,found speed on Mid-Ohio’s 2.25 mile, 12-turn road course, recording their first points of the season.

Arthur Leist of Novo Hamburgo, Brazil, Justin Gordon of Lake Worth, Florida, Conrad Clark of Taupo, New Zealand, and Eduardo Barrichello of Sao Paulo, Brazil, also added championship points to their season tally.

More SCCA / SportsCar Magazine