Kanaan confirmed for Le Mans return with Ganassi

Kanaan confirmed for Le Mans return with Ganassi


Kanaan confirmed for Le Mans return with Ganassi


Tony Kanaan is set to take on the 24 Hours of Le Mans for a second time in 2018 with Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK, driving the No.67 GTE Pro class Ford GT.

Kanaan – whose four-year stint with Ganassi’s IndyCar team ended in the offseason with a move to AJ Foyt Racing – will compete with full-time FIA WEC duo Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell, in the seat filled by ESM IMSA driver Pipo Derani last year. In 2017, Kanaan made his debut at Le Mans with the team racing in the No. 68 GT, filling in for the injured Sebastien Bourdais.

In Ford’s finalized Le Mans line-up, Billy Johnson will again take the third seat alongside Olivier Pla and Stefan Mucke in the other FIA WEC GT, the No. 66.

Completing Ford’s four-car Le Mans entry are the two IMSA GTs; Bourdais will return to the No.68 and race with Joey Hand, Dirk Muller, and Scott Dixon, who won this year’s Rolex 24 GTLM class, will race in the No.69 again with Richard Westbrook and Ryan Briscoe.

At present there’s no confirmation of any other appearances prior to Le Mans for Kanaan or Johnson with Ford. Previously, the third drivers in the two FIA WEC GTs have competed in the opening rounds of the season at Silverstone and Spa.

IndyCar Debrief