McLaughlin joins McLaren squad for Bathurst 12 Hour

McLaughlin joins McLaren squad for Bathurst 12 Hour

International Racing

McLaughlin joins McLaren squad for Bathurst 12 Hour


DJR Team Penske Supercars star Scott McLaughlin has been added to YNA Autosport’s effort in the Bathurst 12 Hour. The 2017 Supercars championship runner-up will join McLaren factory driver Andrew Watson, Australian GT racer Fraser Ross and Sweden’s Alexander West in its Pro-Am 650S GT3 entry supported by McElrea Racing.

It’s the second Bathurst start for McLaughlin, who won Class B in 2016 in a Porsche GT3 Cup Car.

“I am really excited for my first attack at the Bathurst 12 Hour in Class A machinery,” McLaughlin said.

“We have a great line up to attack the Pro-Am class honors but also attack the outright order. I’m looking forward to the challenge and excited to be in a fantastic car like the McLaren with some great teammates.

“The 12 Hour is a perfect way to start my racing season and hopefully we can kick it off with some success!”

Triple Eight Supercars stars Craig Lowndes and Shane van Gisbergen, who won the 12 Hour in 2017 and 2016, respectively, and Come Ledogar will drive the team’s Pro entry.

In October, McLaughlin set the fastest Supercar lap of Mt. Panorama ever on his way to securing pole for the Bathurst 1000, marking the first Supercar lap to break the 2m04s mark with a 2m03.8312s. He was felled by engine damage during the race.