Daytona 'Clash' field set

Daytona 'Clash' field set

Cup Series

Daytona 'Clash' field set


Eligibility for The Advance Auto Parts Clash remains unchanged for 2018.

The 75-lap event at Daytona International Speedway will be split into two segments, separated by a competition caution at lap 25. It will be held the Sunday before the Daytona 500 (Feb. 11) after Daytona 500 qualifying.

“A double-header, featuring The Clash and Daytona 500 qualifying, is a great way to start the 2018 season,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer. “The urgency created by the non-points race sets a tone for the season, providing a strong preview of the competition we expect will be a mainstay all year long.”

There is no pre-determined number of cars. Eligible drivers are those who claimed a Coors Light Pole Award in 2017, former Clash winners, former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time last season and drivers who made the 2017 NASCAR Playoffs.

Eligible drivers are:

Ryan Blaney
Kurt Busch
Kyle Busch
Dale Earnhardt Jr. (not expected to compete)
Chase Elliott
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Erik Jones
Matt Kenseth (not expected to compete)
Brad Keselowski
Kyle Larson
Joey Logano
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Martin Truex Jr.
Austin Dillon
Jimmie Johnson
Danica Patrick
Kasey Kahne
Jamie McMurray
Ryan Newman

“For four decades, the Advance Auto Parts Clash has been a staple of the Speedweeks lineup,” Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile said. “The event has a rich history and serves as a preview to the Can-Am Duel qualifying races and the Daytona 500. Combining the Advance Auto Parts Clash and Daytona 500 Qualifying on the same day will deliver race fans a full day of NASCAR action.”