SUPERCARS: Whincup and Dumbrell take Bathurst 1000 pole

SUPERCARS: Whincup and Dumbrell take Bathurst 1000 pole

Australian Supercars

SUPERCARS: Whincup and Dumbrell take Bathurst 1000 pole


Jamie Whincup continued his dominance of the Bathurst 1000 by taking pole position for Sunday’s 161-lap race.

Whincup and co-driver Paul Dumbrell have led all but two of the practice sessions and Whincup topped Friday’s qualifying session. He was challenged in the one-car shoot out on Saturday afternoon, but held on to keep the prime spot by 0.065s.

“The car feels good  I am happy to get the result,” the Red Bull Holden driver said after the lap. “Starting from the best place tomorrow but a long day ahead of us.”

His closest challenger, as it was in the qualifying session, was Scott McLaughlin. The Volvo driver took his time to get up to speed, but was satisfied with second.

“It means everything, but congrats to Jamie,” he said. “I gave it my all.”

Third place went to Chaz Mostert. A year after breaking his leg in qualifying and missing the race, the Ford pilot was very swift, and topped Saturday’s practice session and missed pole by 0.1s.

Fellow Ford man Fabian Coulthard was fifth fastest, he and teammate Scott Pye both making it into the top 10.

Tim Slade (Holden) and Michael Caruso (Nissan) will share the third row of the grid, a particularly strong lap from Caruso gaining him four places after being the first driver out in the shoot out.

Shane van Gisbergen had a tough time in his Red Bull Holden, his team going the wrong way on setup, and he will have outgoing Holden Racing Team driver Garth Tander start alongside him on the fourth row.

Mark Winterbottom finished 10th after a couple of driving errors in his lap and the defending Supercars champion looks to have much to do if he is to take a second 1000 victory.

But so will Craig Lowndes. The defending race winner has had a troubled build-up to the race, and he and co-driver Steven Richards will start from 21st on the grid.


Pos Driver Car Team Gap
1 J.Whincup, P.Dumbrell Holden Triple Eight 2m05.4263s
2 S.McLaughlin, D.Wall Volvo GRM 0.0652s
3 C.Mostert, S.Owen Ford Rod Nash/PRA 0.1005s
4 F.Coulthard, L.Youlden Ford DJR Penske 0.2463s
5 T.Slade, A.Walsh Holden Brad Jones 0.4305s
6 M.Caruso, D.Fiore Nissan Nissan Motorsport 0.4904s
7 S.Gisbergen, A.Premat Holden Triple Eight 0.8287s
8 G.Tander, W.Luff Holden HRT 1.1275s
9 S.Pye, T.D’Alberto Ford DJR Penske 1.1294s
10 M.Winterbottom, D.Canto Ford Prodrive 2.8352s
11 J.Bright, A.Jones Holden Brad Jones 0.2403s
12 C.Pither, R.Stanaway Ford Super Black/PRA 0.2543s
13 C.Waters, J.Le Brocq Ford Prodrive 0.3685s
14 D.Reynolds, C.Baird Holden Erebus 0.4118s
15 L.Holdsworth, K.Reindler Holden Schwerkolt 0.5154s
16 J.Courtney, J.Perkins Holden HRT 0.5674s
17 W.Davison, J.Webb Holden Tekno 0.5678s
18 D.Wood, D.Russell Nissan Nissan Motorsport 0.6056s
19 T.Kelly, M.Campbell Nissan Nissan Motorsport 0.6310s
20 R.Kelly, R.Ingall Nissan Nissan Motorsport 0.7552s
21 C.Lowndes, S.Richards Holden Triple Eight 0.8026s
22 N.Percat, C.McConville Holden Dumbrell 0.8445s
23 J.Moffat, J.Golding Volvo GRM 0.8515s
24 T.Blanchard, M.Jones Holden Britek/BJR 1.0253s
25 A.Heimgartner, A.Russell Holden Dumbrell 1.6879s
26 Silvestro, R.Gracie Nissan Nissan Motorsport 4.2419s
27 C.van der Drift, S.Davies Holden Erebus 13.9582s


Originally on