V8 Supercars: Van Gisbergen claims Bathurst pole

V8 Supercars: Van Gisbergen claims Bathurst pole

Australian Supercars

V8 Supercars: Van Gisbergen claims Bathurst pole


Shane van Gisbergen denied Mark Winterbottom pole position in a gripping qualifying shootout for V8 Supercars’ showpiece Bathurst 1000.

The Kiwi threw his Tekno Holden around the Mount Panorama circuit and his fully committed, error-free lap resulted in a time of 2m06.3267s, beating his Ford Performance Racing rival by 0.3122 seconds.

Defending race winner Winterbottom (left) battled against understeer through his lap, but was incredibly quick through the first and final sectors, and only a moment at the top of the hill in the second sector denied him pole.

A smooth lap by Scott McLaughlin was good enough for third and the Volvo will start alongside Jason Bright’s Brad Jones Holden on the second row.

Fabian Coulthard could not replicate his Friday pacesetting performance when it mattered and was 0.52 seconds down on van Gisbergen after the second sector, before losing further time after clipping the grass at Turn 22. He was seven tenths quicker than Craig Lowndes, who starts his 20th Bathurst 1000 from sixth after what was a conservative run by the Triple Eight driver following a post-practice rebuild.

James Moffat did well to hold his speed at the end of the Conrod Straight into The Chase without locking up the rears of his Nissan and finished seventh, ahead of reigning Dunlop Series champion Dale Wood in the Birtek Commodore. Jack Perkins marked his first Bathurst shootout appearance by taking ninth in the Schwekolt Falcon.

The rest of the starting order was set in Friday’s qualifying session, although another race favorite joins the back of the grid as Chaz Mostert was found guilty of passing under red flags during the session and was later excluded from it.

The earlier withdrawal of Garth Tander and Warren Luff’s Holden Racing Commodore also means that just 25 cars will compete in this year’s Bathurst 1000, beating the previously record-lowest of 27 entries set in 1997.

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 S.Gisbergen, J.Webb Tekno Holden 2m 06.3267s
2 M.Winterbottom, S.Owen FPR Ford 2m 06.6389s 0.3122s
3 S.McLaughlin, A.Premat GRM Volvo 2m 06.7782s 0.4515s
4 J.Bright, A.Jones Brad Jones Holden 2m 07.0431s 0.7164s
5 F.Coulthard, L.Youlden Brad Jones Holden 2m 07.0568s 0.7301s
6 C.Lowndes, S.Richards Triple Eight Holden 2m 07.7304s 1.4037s
7 J.Moffat, T.Douglas Nissan Motorsport Nissan 2m 07.7453s 1.4186s
8 D.Wood, C.Pither Britek/BJR Holden 2m 07.9923s 1.6656s
9 J.Perkins, C.Waters Schwerkolt/FPR Ford 2m 08.2498s 1.9231s
10 J.Courtney, G.Murphy HRT Holden 2m 06.7150s 0.3883s
11 N.Percat, O.Gavin Walkinshaw/HRT Holden 2m 06.7451s 0.4184s
12 T.Kelly, A.Buncombe Nissan Motorsport Nissan 2m 06.8090s 0.4823s
13 C.Mostert, P.Morris FPR Ford 2m 06.8385s 0.5118s
14 M.Caruso, D.Fiore Nissan Motorsport Nissan 2m 06.8898s 0.5631s
15 R.Kelly, D.Russell Nissan Motorsport Nissan 2m 06.8902s 0.5635s
16 S.Pye, A.Walsh Dick Johnson Ford 2m 07.2720s 0.9453s
17 W.Davison, A.Davison Erebus Mercedes 2m 07.4989s 1.1722s
18 L.Holdsworth, C.Baird Erebus Mercedes 2m 07.5463s 1.2196s
19 R.Ingall, T.Blanchard Dumbrell Holden 2m 07.5760s 1.2493s
20 T.Slade, T.D’Alberto Rosenberg/HRT Holden 2m 07.8996s 1.5729s
21 R.Dahlgren, G.Ritter GRM Volvo 2m 08.2603s 1.9336s
22 D.Wall, S.Johnson Dick Johnson Ford 2m 08.3854s 2.0587s
23 A.Heimgartner, A.Pedersen Super Black Ford 2m 08.4896s 2.1629s
24 J.Whincup, P.Dumbrell Triple Eight Holden 2m 19.5136s 13.1869s
25 D.Reynolds, D.Canto Rod Nash/FPR Ford 3m 48.1345s 1m 41.8078s


Originally on Autosport.com