Stoneman tops Yas Marina GP3 test

Stoneman tops Yas Marina GP3 test

Formula 3

Stoneman tops Yas Marina GP3 test


Koiranen GP driver Dean Stoneman topped the opening day of post-season GP3 Series testing at Yas Marina on Tuesday.

Stoneman, who missed three years of open-wheel competition while battling testicular cancer, took a podium finish on his series debut at the track last weekend. The 23-year-old Briton stayed on for the test with Koiranen and set the pace in the morning session in 1m56.278s and improved to a 1m55.829s later on.

Frenchman Pierre Gasly and the man he narrowly beat to the Formula Renault Eurocup title this year, Britain’s Oliver Rowland, were second and third for, respectively, the ART and Manor teams. Both were just over a tenth slower than Stoneman.

GP2 runner-up Sam Bird was fourth fastest as Russian Time took part in its first test as a GP3 entrant, Igor Mazepa’s squad having now officially taken over Bamboo Engineering’s entry. Kevin Korjus, a regular in GP3 with Koiranen this year, was fifth fastest for Status, while ART’s Alex Fontana and MW Arden’s German F3 champion Marvin Kirchhofer were next up.

Briton Jann Mardenborough, who has raced top-level F3, GT and sportscar machinery this year, was eighth fastest for Carlin ahead of Roman de Beer of Trident and Status driver Nick Cassidy.

All of the top 10 times came in the faster, later session. Stoneman was pushed hardest in the morning by Jenzer’s Patric Niederhauser and MW Arden’s Dino Zamparelli.

The red flags were brought out twice, both times for incidents involving Jenzer drivers. David Fumanelli tagged a barrier during the morning while Kevin Joerg’s car was stranded on-track later on.

Among a number of lineup changes for day two are a switch by Nicholas Latifi from Carlin to Status, where he replaces Jordan King and will be joined by Cassidy and Indy Lights racer Jack Hawksworth. Latifi’s Carlin seat will be taken by Luis Sa Silva.

Morning timesPos Driver                    Team              Time       Laps 1. Dean Stoneman             Koiranen          1m56.278s   18 2. Patric Niederhauser       Jenzer            1m56.584s   19 3. Dino Zamparelli           MW Arden          1m56.649s   18 4. Sam Bird                  Russian Time      1m56.711s   16 5. Kevin Korjus              Status            1m56.837s   16 6. Jan Mardenborough         Carlin            1m56.858s   22 7. Melville McKee            Manor             1m56.921s   25 8. Alex Fontana              ART               1m56.927s   20 9. Roman de Beer             Trident           1m56.986s   2710. Emil Bernstorff           Carlin            1m57.067s   2411. Pierre Gasly              ART               1m57.198s   1912. Marvin Kirchhofer         MW Arden          1m57.211s   2013. Oliver Rowland            Manor             1m57.430s   1214. Edward Jones              MW Arden          1m57.511s   1615. Jimmy Eriksson            Russian Time      1m57.635s   816. Adderly Fong              Koiranen          1m57.665s   2017. Emanuele Zonzini          ART               1m57.670s   1918. David Fumanelli           Jenzer            1m57.881s   1519. Jordan King               Status            1m57.883s   520. Nick Cassidy              Status            1m58.023s   1921. Nicholas Latifi           Carlin            1m58.349s   2122. Santiago Urrutia          Koiranen          1m58.701s   2123. Ryan Cullen               Manor             1m58.771s   2624. Kevin Joerg               Jenzer            1m59.080s   2625. Ivan Taranov              Trident           1m59.225s   2726. Juan Branger              Trident           2m02.334s   2027. Kuba Dalewski             Russian Time      2m03.730s   6Afternoon timesPos Driver                    Team              Time       Laps 1. Dean Stoneman             Koiranen          1m55.829s   25 2. Pierre Gasly              ART               1m55.940s   29 3. Oliver Rowland            Manor             1m55.967s   17 4. Sam Bird                  Russian Time      1m56.028s   27 5. Kevin Korjus              Status            1m56.419s   24 6. Alex Fontana              ART               1m56.432s   25 7. Marvin Kirchhofer         MW Arden          1m56.468s   26 8. Jan Mardenborough         Carlin            1m56.469s   33 9. Roman de Beer             Trident           1m56.549s   2310. Nick Cassidy              Status            1m56.603s   1611. Patric Niederhauser       Jenzer            1m56.614s   2412. Dino Zamparelli           MW Arden          1m56.628s   2513. Adderly Fong              Koiranen          1m56.653s   2514. Emil Bernstorff           Carlin            1m56.678s   3315. Edward Jones              MW Arden          1m56.845s   2316. Jimmy Eriksson            Russian Time      1m56.904s   2817. Emanuele Zonzini          ART               1m57.019s   2918. Melville McKee            Manor             1m57.247s   2319. David Fumanelli           Jenzer            1m57.269s   2020. Jordan King               Status            1m57.274s   2621. Santiago Urrutia          Koiranen          1m57.295s   2222. Nicholas Latifi           Carlin            1m57.381s   3023. Ryan Cullen               Manor             1m57.675s   2524. Ivan Taranov              Trident           1m57.978s   3025. Juan Branger              Trident           1m58.652s   3426. Kevin Joerg               Jenzer            1m58.798s   1427. Kuba Dalewski             Russian Time      1m59.116s   30