Rossi gets GP2 pole as Ericsson demoted

Rossi gets GP2 pole as Ericsson demoted

Formula 2

Rossi gets GP2 pole as Ericsson demoted


Marcus Ericsson has been stripped of his Abu Dhabi GP2 pole position after stewards ruled that he exceeded track limits on his best qualifying lap. The decision to penalize the DAMS driver promotes Caterham’s Alexander Rossi to his first pole position in the category. It also moves title contender Sam Bird to a front row starting position as he bids to overhaul Fabio Leimer’s seven-point series lead.

Leimer will now start fourth, behind Jolyon Palmer, with Tom Dillmann and Johnny Cecotto Jr. rounding out the new top six.

Ericsson falls to 12th place with his second-best time. His drop moves outside title contender Felipe Nasr up to eighth.

Stefano Coletti, the other man still in the championship fight, was only 18th quickest. James Calado was ruled out of contention when he was given a five-place grid penalty for an incident with Dillmann in practice. That meant he could not get the pole bonus points required to keep his title bid alive. Calado was only 14th in qualifying in any case.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap 1.  Alexander Rossi      Caterham            1m48.931s 2.  Sam Bird             Russian Time        1m49.241s  +0.310s 3.  Jolyon Palmer        Carlin              1m49.376s  +0.445s 4.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering  1m49.485s  +0.554s 5.  Tom Dillmann         Russian Time        1m49.672s  +0.741s 6.  Johnny Cecotto Jr    Arden               1m49.680s  +0.749s 7.  Jon Lancaster        Hilmer              1m49.827s  +0.896s 8.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin              1m49.829s  +0.898s 9.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                1m49.835s  +0.904s10.  Dani Clos            MP                  1m49.846s  +0.915s11.  Mitch Evans          Arden               1m49.864s  +0.933s12.  Marcus Ericsson      DAMS                1m49.910s  +0.979s13.  Sergio Canamasas     Caterham            1m49.951s  +1.020s14.  James Calado*        ART                 1m50.002s  +1.071s15.  Rio Haryanto         Addax               1m50.334s  +1.403s16.  Nathanael Berthon    Trident             1m50.446s  +1.515s17.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Hilmer              1m50.510s  +1.579s18.  Stefano Coletti      Rapax               1m50.534s  +1.603s19.  Julian Leal          Racing Engineering  1m50.553s  +1.622s20.  Simon Trummer        Rapax               1m50.634s  +1.703s21.  Jake Rosenzweig      Addax               1m50.809s  +1.878s22.  Rene Binder          Lazarus             1m50.884s  +1.953s23.  Daniel de Jong       MP                  1m50.906s  +1.975s24.  Daniel Abt           ART                 1m50.907s  +1.976s25.  Vittorio Ghirelli    Lazarus             1m51.493s  +2.562s26.  Gianmarco Raimondo   Trident             1m52.311s  +3.380s

*Will drop to 19th with grid penalty.