Spengler grabs pole for Hockenheim DTM finale

Spengler grabs pole for Hockenheim DTM finale


Spengler grabs pole for Hockenheim DTM finale


Bruno Spengler took pole position for the final round of the DTM at Hockenheim as BMWs filled the top four positions.

The 2012 champion moved progressively closer to the front during the four sections of qualifying and took the top spot in 1m33.443s during his single-lap run in Q4.

Practice pacesetter Dirk Werner made it an all-Schnitzer Motorsport front row for the first time since the team returned to the DTM in 2012. His lap was 0.303s slower than Spengler’s.

Briton Andy Priaulx will start third, the RMG driver taking a career-best qualifying spot. Priaulx’s lap was only the fourth quickest in Q4, but he was promoted a spot when Timo Glock’s time was deleted for the German failing to keep all four wheels on the track at Turn 1. Fourth still marked a career-best start for the MTEK driver.

Miguel Molina continued the excellent qualifying form he’s shown in the second half of the season. The Phoenix Audi driver made Q3 for the fourth weekend in a row and will start a spot ahead of his Zandvoort polesitter Marco Wittmann.

Mattias Ekstrom, Adrien Tambay, new champion Mike Rockenfeller and Augusto Farfus completed the top 10 while Martin Tomczyk was knocked back to 11th ” and out of the Q3 reckoning, thanks to a stunning late effort from team-mate Priaulx at the end of Q2. Tomczyk will start two places ahead of Robert Wickens, who recovered from his practice off to start 13th and best of the Mercedes drivers.

A final-minute flyer from Pascal Wehrlein was enough to eliminate RSC Mucke team-mate Daniel Juncadella from contention in Q1.

The Spaniard, who starts 17th, had just a minute earlier knocked Jamie Green’s Abt Audi out of contention. Christian Vietoris, third in the championship, will start behind him in 20th.

Pos Driver              Car              Time       Gap 1. Bruno Spengler      Schnitzer BMW    1m33.443s 2. Dirk Werner         Schnitzer BMW    1m33.746s  +0.085s 3. Andy Priaulx        RMG BMW          1m34.081s  +0.431s 4. Timo Glock          MTEK BMW                     5. Miguel Molina       Audi             1m33.572s  Q3 6. Marco Wittmann      MTEK BMW         1m33.575s  Q3 7. Mattias Ekstrom     Abt Audi         1m33.706s  Q3 8. Adrien Tambay       Abt Audi         1m33.717s  Q3 9. Mike Rockenfeller   Phoenix Audi     1m33.748s  Q3 10. Augusto Farfus      RBM BMW          1m34.247s  Q3 11. Martin Tomczyk      RMG BMW          1m33.594s  Q212. Timo Scheider       Abt Audi         1m33.600s  Q213. Robert Wickens      HWA Mercedes     1m33.719s  Q214. Filipe Albuquerque  Rosberg Audi     1m33.784s  Q215. Pascal Wehrlein     Mucke Mercedes   1m33.839s  Q216. Gary Paffett        HWA Mercedes     1m33.899s  Q217. Dani Juncadella     Mucke Mercedes   1m33.963s  Q118. Edoardo Mortara     Rosberg Audi     1m34.097s  Q119. Jamie Green         Abt Audi         1m34.162s  Q120. Christian Vietoris  HWA Mercedes     1m34.170s  Q121. Roberto Merhi       HWA Mercedes     1m34.308s  Q122. Joey Hand           RBM BMW          1m34.389s  Q1

MX-5 Cup | Round 9 – Road America | Livestream

IndyCar App