Jordan extends lead with second win

Jordan extends lead with second win

Latest Stories

Jordan extends lead with second win


Andrew Jordan extended his lead in the British Touring Car Championship by winning the final race of the weekend at Rockingham.

The Eurotech Honda driver, who finished eighth in race two earlier in the day, drew pole position on the partially reversed grid and converted it into his sixth victory of the season.

He held the lead throughout, despite a short safety car period triggered by a first-lap tangle between Jack Goff’s Team HARD Vauxhall Insignia and Rob Collard’s WSR BMW.

With works Honda rival Gordon Shedden only able to make it as high as fifth from seventh place on the grid Jordan now has more than a race win’s advantage at the top of the standings.

Triple Eight MG driver Sam Tordoff ran second initially, but slipped back to sixth as the race wore on.

Colin Turkington launched his WSR BMW from sixth on the grid to grab third at the start. He dived past Tordoff’s MG6 at Deene on lap 12 of 19 and then held off a determined challenge from Tordoff’s Triple Eight team-mate Jason Plato to finish second.

Mat Jackson’s Motorbase Ford Focus got a brief look at challenging these two in their early skirmishes behind Tordoff, but he eventually finished a lonely fourth, a couple of seconds clear of Shedden.

Race two winner Rob Austin battled hard to find a way by the struggling Toyota Avensis of Dave Newsham, which started on the front row but got hung out to dry on the outside line on the first run through Deene.

They came together at Brook chicane on the penultimate lap, allowing former points leader Matt Neal to salvage seventh having started from the back of the grid following a non-finish in race two.

Newsham recovered to finish ahead of Austin in eighth, while Jeff Smith’s Eurotech Honda Civic had an eventful run to round out the top 10.

Lea Wood completed a hat-trick of S2000 class wins in 16th overall, meaning his win tally can no longer be overhauled in the Jack Sears Trophy.

Results - 18 laps:

Pos Driver            Car                  Time/Gap
 1. Andrew Jordan     Eurotech Honda       28m49.680s
 2. Colin Turkington  WSR BMW              +3.180s   
 3. Jason Plato       MG                   +4.076s   
 4. Mat Jackson       Motorbase Ford       +10.327s  
 5. Gordon Shedden    Honda                +12.587s  
 6. Sam Tordoff       MG                   +15.076s  
 7. Matt Neal         Honda                +20.831s  
 8. Dave Newsham      Speedworks Toyota    +21.539s  
 9. Rob Austin        Austin Audi          +23.277s  
10. Jeff Smith        Eurotech Honda       +25.044s  
11. Adam Morgan       Ciceley Toyota       +25.441s  
12. Tom Onslow-Cole   Motorbase Ford       +27.155s  
13. Nick Foster       WSR BMW              +28.430s  
14. Aron Smith        Motorbase Ford       +28.474s  
15. Ollie Jackson     Speedworks Toyota    +39.651s  
16. Lea Wood          Wood Vauxhall        +51.382s  
17. Warren Scott      BMR Volkswagen       +1m00.644s
18. Andy Wilmot       Hard Volkswagen      +1m00.864s
19. David Nye         Welch Ford           +1m21.440s


    Will Bratt        Austin Audi          13 laps
    Howard Fuller     Hard Volkswagen      10 laps 
    Frank Wrathall    Dynojet Toyota       6  laps 
    Jack Goff         Hard Vauxhall        1  laps 
    Rob Collard       WSR BMW              0  laps 

Read more