Rockenfeller sets early practice pace

Rockenfeller sets early practice pace


Rockenfeller sets early practice pace


DTM championship leader Mike Rockenfeller set the pace in practice ahead of a potentially decisive race at Oschersleben on Saturday morning.

The Phoenix Audi driver, who leads the championship by 35 points and could be crowned champion this weekend, hit the front with only three minutes of the hour-and-a-half-long session remaining.

His 1m20.947s lap made Rockenfeller the only man to dip under the 1m21s barrier and put the German 0.227s clear of Dirk Werner’s Schnitzer BMW.

Werner, who spent a brief period at the front himself, led a trail of four more Audis with Abt Sportsline pair Timo Scheider and Adrien Tambay ahead of Filipe Albuquerque’s Team Rosberg-run RS5.

Gary Paffett, who is making his 100th DTM start this weekend, was the best of the Mercedes drivers in sixth, despite a trip through the gravel at Turn 7 early on.

Paffett in the DTM: 100 not out

Edoardo Mortara, Robert Wickens, Pascal Wehrlein and Jamie Green completed the top 10.

Marco Wittmann spun into the gravel through the Turn 8 chicane and also went off at Turn 1 after outbraking himself. Roberto Merhi was another to go off at Turn 1, albeit without damage.

Prior to any of this, the session was red-flagged for a couple of minutes to allow debris dropped on the exit of Turn 2 to be retrieved from the track.

Less than a second covered the entire field, with Rockenfeller’s nearest title rival, Mercedes driver Christian Vietoris, 22nd and last.

AUTOSPORT will broadcast live video of both the race and qualifying from the Oschersleben DTM event this weekend. You can catch all the qualifying and race action from Germany from 1.30pm BST on Saturday and 12.30pm on Sunday.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap

 1.  Mike Rockenfeller   Phoenix Audi    1m20.947s 2.  Dirk Werner         Schnitzer BMW   1m21.174s  +0.227s 3.  Timo Scheider       Abt Audi        1m21.191s  +0.244s 4.  Adrien Tambay       Abt Audi        1m21.204s  +0.257s 5.  Filipe Albuquerque  Rosberg Audi    1m21.214s  +0.267s 6.  Gary Paffett        HWA Mercedes    1m21.290s  +0.343s 7.  Edoardo Mortara     Rosberg Audi    1m21.321s  +0.374s 8.  Robert Wickens      HWA Mercedes    1m21.348s  +0.401s 9.  Pascal Wehrlein     Mucke Mercedes  1m21.370s  +0.423s10.  Jamie Green         Abt Audi        1m21.372s  +0.425s11.  Bruno Spengler      Schnitzer BMW   1m21.406s  +0.459s12.  Martin Tomczyk      RMG BMW         1m21.426s  +0.479s13.  Timo Glock          MTEK BMW        1m21.478s  +0.531s14.  Marco Wittmann      MTEK BMW        1m21.570s  +0.623s15.  Andy Priaulx        RMG BMW         1m21.658s  +0.711s16.  Mattias Ekstrom     Abt Audi        1m21.671s  +0.724s17.  Augusto Farfus      RBM BMW         1m21.746s  +0.799s18.  Miguel Molina       Phoenix Audi    1m21.758s  +0.811s19.  Joey Hand           RBM BMW         1m21.801s  +0.854s20.  Roberto Merhi       HWA Mercedes    1m21.802s  +0.855s21.  Daniel Juncadella   Mucke Mercedes  1m21.861s  +0.914s22.  Christian Vietoris  HWA Mercedes    1m21.924s  +0.977s