Short track returns highlight Xfinity, Truck Series schedules for 2020

Image by LAT

Short track returns highlight Xfinity, Truck Series schedules for 2020


Short track returns highlight Xfinity, Truck Series schedules for 2020


The NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck and Xfinity Series schedules for 2020 were released Wednesday, and both feature a return to facilities that have been missing from their respective calendars for more than a decade.

For the first time since 2005, the Truck Series will compete at Richmond Raceway when it returns to the short track on Saturday, April 18.

In the Xfinity Series, they will return to Martinsville Speedway for the first since 2006 (and only the second time in the last 25 years). Martinsville will play host to the final elimination race in the playoffs for all three national series before a champion is decided a week later at ISM Raceway.

“The NASCAR Xfinity Series and NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck series were both built on short track racing, and it is important that short tracks remain a prominent part of the series schedules,” said Ben Kennedy, the managing director of racing operations and international development. “We returned to our roots in many ways with today’s announcement. Martinsville and Richmond were part of the original Xfinity and Gander Trucks schedules, and we’re excited for their return as part of a strong overall slate.”

Other tweaks in the Xfinity Series schedule include moving the Mid-Ohio road course race earlier into the year. It will be the first road course race of the season on May 30. The Charlotte Roval will be an elimination race in the Xfinity Series playoffs held on Oct. 10.

In the Truck Series, the playoffs will begin in late August at Gateway Motorsports Park. On Sept. 17, the playoff field will be cut with an elimination race at Bristol.

Both the Truck and Xfinity Series will be a part of the double-header Cup Series weekend at Pocono Raceway in June. The Trucks will compete on Saturday, June 27 with Xfinity Series action on Sunday, June 28.

Lastly, both series will be featured during the two-week break for the NASCAR Cup Series as the Truck Series will run on the Eldora dirt Thursday, July 30 while the Xfinity Series will run the Iowa short track on Aug. 1.

Broadcast times and networks for all three series will be announced at a later date.

2020 NASCAR Gander Truck Series:

Friday, Feb. 14: Daytona International Speedway

Friday, Feb. 21: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Saturday, March 14: Atlanta Motor Speedway

Friday, March 20: Homestead-Miami Speedway

Friday, March 27: Texas Motor Speedway

Saturday, April 18: Richmond Raceway

Friday, May 1: Dover International Speedway

Friday, May 15: Charlotte Motor Speedway

Saturday, May 30: Kansas Speedway

Friday, June 5: Texas Motor Speedway

Friday, June 12: Iowa Speedway

Friday, June 19: Chicagoland Speedway

Saturday, June 27: Pocono Raceway

Thursday, July 9: Kentucky Speedway

Thursday, July 30: Eldora Speedway

Saturday, Aug. 8: Michigan International Speedway

Friday, Aug. 21: Gateway Motorsports Park

Sunday, Sept. 6: Canadian Tire Motorsports Park

Thursday, Sept. 17: Bristol Motor Speedway

Friday, Sept. 25: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Saturday, Oct. 3: Talladega Superspeedway

Friday, Oct. 30: Martinsville Speedway

Friday, Nov. 6: ISM Raceway

2020 Xfinity Series:

Saturday, Feb. 15: Daytona International Speedway

Saturday, Feb. 22: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Saturday, Feb. 29: Auto Club Speedway

Saturday, March 7: ISM Raceway

Saturday, March 14: Atlanta Motor Speedway

Saturday, March 21: Homestead-Miami Speedway

Saturday, March 28: Texas Motor Speedway

Saturday, April 4: Bristol Motor Speedway

Saturday, April 25: Talladega Superspeedway

Saturday, May 2: Dover International Speedway

Saturday, May 23: Charlotte Motor Speedway

Saturday, May 30: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Saturday, June 6: Michigan International Speedway

Saturday, June 13: Iowa Speedway

Saturday, June 20: Chicagoland Speedway

Sunday, June 28: Pocono Raceway

Saturday, July 4: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Friday, July 10: Kentucky Speedway

Saturday, July 18: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Saturday, Aug. 1: Iowa Speedway

Saturday, Aug. 8: Road America

Saturday, Aug. 15: Watkins Glen International

Saturday, Aug. 22: Dover International Speedway

Friday, Aug. 28: Daytona International Speedway

Saturday, Sept. 5: Darlington Raceway

Friday, Sept. 11: Richmond Raceway

Friday, Sept. 18: Bristol Motor Speedway

Saturday, Sept. 26: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Saturday, Oct. 10: Charlotte Motor Speedway Roval

Saturday, Oct. 17: Kansas Speedway

Saturday, Oct. 24: Texas Motor Speedway

Saturday, Oct. 31: Martinsville Speedway

Saturday, Nov. 7: ISM Raceway