Fields set for Daytona Duels

Image by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Fields set for Daytona Duels


Fields set for Daytona Duels


With the front row locked in for the 61st annual Daytona 500, the rest of the 40-car starting line-up will fall into place following Thursday’s Gander RV Duel races.

Polesitter William Byron will lead the field to the green in the first Duel race. Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jimmie Johnson will start second.

The outside polesitter for the Daytona 500, Alex Bowman, will lead the field to the green flag in the second Duel race with Chase Elliott starting second.

With Tyler Reddick and Casey Mears being the fastest of the open teams in Sunday’s qualifying session, both are guaranteed a spot in the Daytona 500. The final two spots will be determined by what occurs in the Duel races between Ryan Truex, Parker Kligerman, Brendan Gaughan and Joey Gase.

The Gander RV Duel races at Daytona are Thursday, Feb. 14 at 7 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1.

Duel 1 line-up:

1. William Byron

2. Jimmie Johnson

3. Daniel Hemric

4. Martin Truex Jr.

5. Brad Keselowski

6. Paul Menard

7. Kyle Busch

8. Kevin Harvick

9. Tyler Reddick

10. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

11. Daniel Suarez

12. Chris Buescher

13. Ryan Newman

14. Ryan Truex

15. Ryan Preece

16. Matt DiBenedetto

17. Darrell Wallace Jr.

18. Matt Tifft

19. Parker Kligerman

20. Landon Cassill

21. Cody Ware

Duel 2 line-up:

1. Alex Bowman

2. Chase Elliott

3. Joey Logano

4. Clint Bowyer

5. Austin Dillon

6. Denny Hamlin

7. Erik Jones

8. Ryan Blaney

9. Aric Almirola

10. Kurt Busch

11. David Ragan

12. Michael McDowell

13. Casey Mears

14. Jamie McMurray

15. Brendan Gaughan

16. Kyle Larson

17. Ty Dillon

18. Ross Chastain

19. Corey LaJoie

20. BJ McLeod

21. Joey Gase