2018 Hoosier Super Tour point champions crowned

2018 Hoosier Super Tour point champions crowned

SCCA / SportsCar Magazine

2018 Hoosier Super Tour point champions crowned


Above: Robeson Clay Russell was the Spec Racer Ford Gen3 2018 Hoosier Super Tour point champion, and the only racer in 2018 to earn an SCCA Road Racing Super Sweep.

While the Hoosier Racing Tire SCCA Super Tour 2019 schedule has already been announced, there is cause for celebration among the 2018 Hoosier Super Tour point champions from across 28 different classes.

One standout this year is driver Robeson Clay Russell, the 2018 Hoosier Super Tour point champion in Spec Racer Ford Gen3 (SRF3). He also earned the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour Southeast Conference SRF3 championship, took the SRF3 Tire Rack Pole Award at the 2018 National Championship, and brought home a Runoffs win at Sonoma Raceway in his Angry Llama/SVN/Comprent Motorsports SRF3 racecar. As such, Russell becomes the sole competitor in 2018 to earn an SCCA Road Racing Super Sweep award.

There were several tight finishes in the Hoosier Super Tour point championship this year. The Formula Enterprises 2 battle came down to a tie, with Thomas W. Burt and Rhett Barkau both earning 137 points. However, Burt and his Bulldog Motorsport SCCA FE2 Mazda claimed the point championship based on his fifth-place finish at the Runoffs as compared to the eighth-place finish of Barkau.

The point championship battle was nearly as close in the Formula F (FF) class. There, David Livingston Jr., in a Spectrum 14H, eked out a win by one point over Yuven Sundaramoorthy’s Mygale. Jonathon Kotyk, the 2018 FF Runoffs winner who also drives a Mygale, finished third in the point championship only three points off Livingston.

Four points were the deciding factor in two Hoosier Super Tour class point championships. The Formula 1000 point champion in 2018 is Gary Hickman in his Edge Engineering Phoenix F1K.12 Suzuki. Hickman compiled 75 points as compared to the 71 points of Jeremy Hill, in a Photon VD07, and the JDR F1000 of Nicholas Vardis. And in Super Touring Under (STU), Kevin Koelemeyer and his OPM/HPD/G-Loc/Hoosier Honda Civic grabbed the Hoosier Super Tour point championship by four points over Runoffs STU winner Kevin Boehm, also in a Honda Civic.

Two other close point championships to note occurred in the Touring 4 (T4) and Spec Miata (SM) classes. The T4 point championship went to the Hoosier Mazda RX-8 of Ross Murray who amassed five more points than runner-up Gresham Wagner driving a Mazda MX-5. And in SM it’s Chris Haldeman, in his X-Factor Racing/Sunoco/G-Loc Mazda Miata, who claimed the Hoosier Super Tour point championship by eight points over Michael Carter.

Only the top six regular-season finishes counted toward a driver’s 2018 point total. Points were also awarded for a seventh and final race, the Runoffs. For each race, points were awarded to the top 20 finishers in each class. Winners earned 25 points, and 21 points went to second. Points were then doled out to others starting with 18 and descending to a single point for the 20th finisher.

Below is a rundown of the 2018 Hoosier Racing Tire SCCA Super Tour point champions:
-American Sedan: Brian Himes; Slidell, LA; Delta Region; Ford Mustang
-B-Spec: John Phillips; Sealy, TX; Houston Region; Honda Fit
-E Production: Matthew Reynolds; Boerne, TX; Alamo Region; Mazda Miata
-F Production: Charlie Campbell; Corry, PA; Mohawk Hudson Region; Mazda Miata
-H Production: Nick Engels; Bedford, TX; Texas Region; Toyota MR-2
-Formula 500: Russell Strate Jr.; Alden, NY; Western New York Region; Scorpion S-1
-Formula 1000: Gary Hickman; Alpine, CA; San Diego Region; Phoenix F1K.12
-Formula Atlantic: Paul Ravaris; Aledo, TX; Texas Region; Pro Formula Mazda
-Formula Continental: Charles Moran; Oakton, VA; Old Dominion Region; Van Dieman RF99
-Formula Enterprises: James Libecco; Solon, OH; NeOhio Region; SCCA FE Mazda
-Formula Enterprises 2: Thomas W. Burt; Woodway, WA; Northwest Region; SCCA FE2 Mazda
-Formula F: David Livingston Jr.; Nashville, TN; Tennessee Region; Spectrum 14H
-Formula Mazda: Bryce Cornet; Norman, OK; Oklahoma Region; Formula Mazda
-Formula Vee: Andrew Whitston; Neenah, WI; Milwaukee Region; Protoform P2
-GT-1: David Fershtand; Fort Worth, TX; Texas Region; Oldsmobile Cutlass
-GT-2: Max Nufer; Wildwood, MO; St. Louis Region; Chevrolet Camaro
-GT-3: Jeff Dernehl; Roswell, GA; Atlanta Region; Mazda RX-7
-GT-Lite: Larry Svaton; Alvin, TX; Houston Region; Mazda MX-5 Miata
-Prototype 1: Darryl Shoff; Fort Myers, FL; Northeastern Pennsylvania Region; Elan DP02
-Prototype 2: Armen Megregian; Naples, FL; Central Florida Region; Ligier JS 51
-Spec Miata: Chris Haldeman; McKinney, TX; Texas Region; Mazda Miata
-SRF Gen3: Robeson Clay Russell; Spartanburg, SC; Central Carolinas Region; Spec Racer Ford Gen3
-Super Touring Lite: Danny Steyn; Fort Lauderdale, FL; Florida Region; Mazda MX-5
-Super Touring Under: Kevin Koelemeyer; Fort Myers, FL; Central Florida Region; Honda Civic
-Touring 1: Brad McCall; Boca Raton, FL; Florida Region; Porsche Cayman GTS
-Touring 2: Bill Collins; Saint Paul, MN; Land O’Lakes Region; Chevrolet Corvette
-Touring 3: William Hendrix; Oxford, MA; New England Region; Nissan 350Z
-Touring 4: Ross Murray; Marina Del Rey, CA; Cal Club; Mazda RX-8

The 2018 Hoosier Super Tour season opened in January with Round 1 and Round 2 at Sebring International Raceway in Florida. The second event then took place in February at Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas. Competitors got a month off before Round 5 and Round 6 at NOLA Motorsports Park in Avondale, Louisiana, followed by April stops at Hallett Motor Racing Circuit in Jennings, Oklahoma, and VIRginia International Raceway in Alton, Virginia. The Hoosier Super Tour then headed west for weekends at California’s Buttonwillow Raceway Park and Portland International Raceway in Oregon. Round 15 and Round 16 were then held at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course before the WeatherTech Chicago Region June Sprints at Road America. The 10-event, 20-race Hoosier Super Tour regular season then came to a close in June at Watkins Glen International in Upstate New York.

More SCCA / SportsCar Magazine