Signatech Alpine confirmed as Le Mans LMP2 winner

Signatech Alpine confirmed as Le Mans LMP2 winner

Le Mans/WEC

Signatech Alpine confirmed as Le Mans LMP2 winner

By ,

It’s been three and a half months since the 86th 24 Hours of Le Mans, but we now finally know who goes into the record books as the winner of the LMP2 class, following an FIA ruling on the appeal against the disqualification of the on-track winners.

The Signatech Alpine A470-Gibson of Nicolas Lapierre, Pierre Thiriet and Andre Negrao (pictured above one step below their rightful place on the Le Mans podium) have been confirmed as the winners of the class, after the FIA rejected the appeal of G-Drive Racing against its exclusion from the June 17-18 race.

The DQ was made on the basis of a report from the Technical Delegates which stated that “an additional machined part not featuring on the drawing is inserted into the flow restrictor, changing the wetted restrictor surface described by the regulatory drawing.”

The race stewards, who concluded that the additional part had been inserted into the ‘dead man’s handle’ element of the fueling rig with the aim of defeating the purpose of the mandated fuel fill restrictor, opted to disqualify the car. On appeal, the FIA upheld the stewards’ decision.

TDS Racing was also disqualified from fourth place in LMP2 for the same reason, and filed its own appeal — which the FIA considered in the same hearing and similarly rejected.

Moving up to second place in the final results is the No. 39 Graff/SO24 ORECA 07 Gibson of Vincent Capillaire, Jonathan Hirschi and Tristan Gommendy and inheriting third was the No. 32 United Autosports Ligier JS P217 of Will Owen, Hugo de Sadeleer and Juan Pablo Montoya. Despite the long delay in its confirmation, Owen says the place still holds significant meaning.

“United Autosports wants to win just like everyone else does, but fortunately everyone on the team has enough integrity to do it fairly and honestly,” Owen said. “Le Mans was an amazing experience in every way and now being a part of this event’s history has added to it even more. We didn’t get to stand on the podium for the picture, but fortunately the result will last forever.”

Click here for the final 24 Hours of Le Mans results.