Sebring Hour 4: Caution shuffles the leaders

Sebring Hour 4: Caution shuffles the leaders


Sebring Hour 4: Caution shuffles the leaders


The Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring is under caution for a bizarre incident four hours into the event following an extended green-flag run.

A pop-up tent from the spectator area blew onto the circuit in Turn 10, ending a nearly three hour, 15 minute run of green flag racing.

When the caution waved, Nicolas Lapierre in the No. 22 Tequila Patron ESM Nissan Onroak DPi led Mike Conway in the No. 31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac DPi-V.R by 1.8 seconds, with Helio Castroneves third in the No. 7 Team Penske Acura ARX-05, 17.8 seconds back.

James Calado led GTLM in the No. 62 Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GT3, while Alessio Clemente Picariello continued to dominate GTD in the No. 29 Montaplast Audi R8 LMS GT3.

The hour ended with the race under caution. Following pit stops, Castroneves took the overall lead, followed by Derani, who took over for Lapierre. Conway is currently fourth, followed by Edward Cheever III in the No. 90 Spirit of Daytona Cadillac. Nine cars remain on the lead lap.

The caution brought the No. 55 Team Joest Mazda RT24-P back into contention, with Jonathan Bomarito currently third. Earlier in the hour, Harry Tincknell was assessed a stop-and-go penalty after the No. 55 Mazda was held accountable following contact with Misha Goikhberg in the No. 99 JDC-Miller Motorsports Gainsco ORECA 07-Gibson. Moments later, Tristan Nunez had a long stop in the No. 77 Mazda with brake problems. Prior to the stops, both Mazdas led several times due to superior fuel mileage over extended green-flag runs.

The No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R also experienced issues with Jordan Taylor making an unscheduled stop to take on water. Ryan Hunter-Reay is currently driving in seventh position.

During the caution-flag pit stops, Oliver Gavin took the GTLM lead in the No. 4 Corvette C7-R, followed by Calado and Patrick Pilet in the No. 911 Porsche RSR.

Philipp Frommenwiler took the GTD lead in the No. 14 3GT Racing Lexus RCF GT3, followed by Jeroen Bleekemolen in the No. 33 Mercedes-AMG GT3 and Jack Hawksworth in the No. 15 Lexus. Picariello fell back to eighth following his stop.