Foyt named Twelve Hours of Sebring grand marshal

Foyt named Twelve Hours of Sebring grand marshal


Foyt named Twelve Hours of Sebring grand marshal


Four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt, whose career also includes victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, 24 Hours of Daytona and 12 Hours of Sebring, will serve as grand marshal for America’s oldest endurance race.

“A.J. Foyt is America’s greatest race car driver,” said Sebring Raceway President Wayne Estes. “Whether in sports cars, Indy cars, stocks cars or anything with four wheels, and whether on a road course, superspeedway, dirt or mountainside, A.J. Foyt fielded and drove winners in every form of motorsport. That he put his final exclamation point on his incredible driving career by winning at Sebring makes his return here all the more meaningful to the fans and competitors at the 66th Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.”

In returning to Sebring for the 66th edition of the event, “Super Tex” will visit the circuit where his last major victory as a driver was earned in 1985 with the late Bob Wollek in a Porsche 962 IMSA GTP entry. Held March 14-18, Sebring stands as the second race on IMSA’s WeatherTech SportsCar Championship calendar.

“I really used to enjoy racing at Sebring in my younger days, and am glad to have won the 12 Hour race there with my good friend Bob Wollek,” Foyt said. “It’s an honor to be named Grand Marshal and I’m looking forward to that weekend.”

MX-5 Cup | Round 2 – Daytona | Livestream