SCCA: Pueblo Mid-States Majors wraps up

SCCA: Pueblo Mid-States Majors wraps up

SCCA / SportsCar Magazine

SCCA: Pueblo Mid-States Majors wraps up


The Mid-States Conference of the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour wrapped its fifth weekend of the 2014 season Sunday, with more track records falling at Pueblo Motorsports Park.

After heavy wind and rain Saturday evening, the track dried in time for morning warm-ups, and provided perfect conditions for all five race groups.

Race One
Unlike Saturday’s race, which featured a black flag all and restart following multiple incidents on the opening lap, the Production, small GT and Super Touring® cars had a clean race. Matt Reynolds, of Fair Oaks, Texas, once again scored a dominant E Production and overall win in his No. 71 Reynolds Brothers Racing/JPM/Vintage Connection Mazda Miata, lowering the track record in the process, to a 1:39.403.

Following the jumbled race on Saturday, the remaining classes had a split start behind the E Production field. Polesitter Eric Prill, of Topeka, Kansas, got a clean start to lead fellow F Production drivers Rick Harris, of Longmont, Colorado, and Bill Hingston, of Aurora, Colorado. The three were running nose-to-tail when Prill’s No. 7 Prather Motorsports/Hoosier Mazda Miata broke a cam gear, leaving Harris and Hingston to battle for the win. Hingston was through into the lead a lap later, in his No. 08 Little Bill Racing/Mazdaspeed Mazda Miata. Harris fell off the fight shortly thereafter, leaving Hingston a comfortable margin. With just two corners remaining, Hingston got a flat tire. But the margin was too large, and he was able to limp home to the checkered flag.

Like Saturday, H Production was a battle between the No. 76 Adept Mobile Datsun 510 of Louisville, Colorado’s Alex Burnett and the No. 81 Austin-Healey Sprite of Aurora’s Jerry Oleson. On lap 13, Oleson broke a spindle in Turn 10, losing the right-front wheel while leading. That promoted Burnett, who set a new HP track record of 1:52.874 on the same lap, into the lead, which he would carry to victory.

Jon Goodale, of Conifer, Colorado, ran uncontested in GT-Lite, but set a new track record of 1:42.741 in his No. 04 Mazdaspeed/Hoosier/JoeApex Mazda MX-5 in the process. Brian Laughlin, of Tulsa, Oklahoma, survived run-ins with two separate cars to win Super Touring Lite and set a new track record of 1:46.225 in his No. 25 Mazda/Hoosier Mazda Miata.

Race Two
Bill Kephart, of Colorado Springs, Colorado, topped the Formula F field and overall in Group Two, setting a new track record in his No. 37 Vestal 10F/Honda.

After leading much of Saturday’s Formula 500 contest, only to tangle with another car late in the race, which damaged his No. 67 Mitchell Racing Services Scorpion, Jack Walbran, of St. Louis, Missouri, scored the Formula 500 win. He lowered his track record to a 1:40.595 in the process.

Bob Neumeister, of Pueblo, Colorado, took Formula Vee in a dominating run with his No. 94 Hoosier Tires/RedLine Oil Vortech JM/VW.

Race Three
As was the case on Saturday, Race Three for Spec Racer® Ford and Spec Miata featured runaway wins.

In SRF, Cliff White, of Huntsville, Alabama, drove his No. 58 Thompson White Spec Racer to a 43.876-second victory over Jay Messenger, of Muleshoe, Texas. Michael Cameron made a last-lap pass on David Pheteplace to take the final spot on the podium.

For the second-straight day, Reynolds scored a second win, this time in Spec Miata. Reynolds drove the No. 74 Reynolds Brothers Racing/Race Engineering/Vintage Connection Mazda Miata to a 15.116-second win over Dean Busk, of Chandler, Arizona. Russ Lindemann, of Longmont, Colorado, finished third.

Race Four
Like Saturday’s big-bore race, both Jim Valdez and Todd Peterson took turns at the front. Peterson led the first lap in his No. 12 Peterson Machining Inc. Ford Mustang GT-1 class car before Valdez put his No. 27 Valdez Motorsports BMW E46 up front overall and in GT-2. It stayed that way until lap 19, when a charging Peterson moved back to the front, setting a new GT-1 track record of 1:35.309 in the process.

Valdez came home second overall for his second-straight GT-2 win, setting a new class record of 1:37.504 in the process.

Derek Kulach, of Albuquerque, New Mexico, took Touring 3 in his No. 5 Zorro Racing/Nissan Motorsports/BFGoodrich Nissan 350Z, beating Saturday’s winner, Jim Leithauser, and his BMW Z4, and setting a track record of his own, at 1:43.261.

Repeat winners included Daniel Kalvar, of Lakewood, Colorado, who came from behind to win Touring 4 driving his No. 66 Club Auto Colorado Pontiac Solstice; Dan Goodman (Erie, Colorado), in Touring 1, driving his No. 56 Hoosier Tire/SPC Performance BMW M3; Michael Pettiford (Louisville, Colorado), in Touring 2, driving his No. 42 GO 4 IT Racing Schools Chevrolet Corvette; and Anthony Simmers (Boulder, Colorado), in STU, driving his No. 45 Volkswagen GTI.

Group Five
Tyler Hunter, of Denver, Colorado, put on a speed clinic in Formula Atlantic®, lowering his all-time SCCA track record set Saturday to a 1:20.926 en route to the overall win in the No. 22 SWAN Racing Swift 014a/Toyota.

Kirk Kindsfater, of Eaton, Colorado, repeated his Saturday win in Prototype 1, with his No. 32 Speads RS11/Suzuki; as did Jose Gerardo (El Paso, Texas) in F1000 with his No. 14 General Labels & Printing Stohr/Suzuki; and Doug Stout (Pueblo, Colorado) in Formula Continental® in his No. 19 DS Masonry/Front Range Van Diemen/Ford. Stout set a new FC record, with a 1:27.072.

Jon Surbeck, of Livermore, Colorado, won Formula Enterprises in his No. 17 Wylie Dog Motorsports SCCA Enterprises FE; and Paul Leonard, of Monument, Colorado, won Prototype 2 in his No. 94 Global Garage Flooring & Design Radical ProSport/Suzuki.

The Mid-States Conference of the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour takes the hot summer months off, before the season finale, Labor Day Weekend, at Heartland Park Topeka, in Topeka, Kansas.

Sunday’s winners at the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour races at Pueblo Motorsports Park, with class, driver, hometown and car.

E Production, Matt Reynolds, Fair Oaks, Texas, Mazda Miata.
F Production, Bill Hingston, Aurora, Colo., Mazda Miata.
Formula 1000, Jose Gerardo, El Paso, Texas, Stohr F1000/Suzuki.
Formula 500, Jack Walbran, St. Louis, Mo., Scorpion/Rotax.
Formula Continental, Doug Stout, Pueblo, Colo., Van Diemen/Ford.
Formula Enterprises, Jon Surbeck, Livermore, Colo., SCCA Enterprises.
Formula F, Bill Kephart, Colorado Springs, Colo., Vestal 10F/Honda.
Formula Vee, Bob Neumeister, Pueblo, Colo., Vortech/VW.
GT-1, Todd Peterson, Boulder, Colo., Ford Mustang.
GT-2, Jim Valdez, Denver, Colo., BMW E46.
GT-3, Jim Speights, San Antonio, Texas, Mazda RX-7.
GT-Lite, Jonathan Goodale, Conifer, Colo., Mazda MX-5.
H Production, Alex Burnett, Aurora, Colo., Datsun 510.
Prototype 1, Kirk Kindsfater, Eaton, Colo., Speads RS11/Suzuki.
Prototype 2, Paul Leonard, Monument, Colorado, Radical ProSport/Suzuki.
Spec Miata, Matt Reynolds, Fair Oaks, Texas, Mazda Miata.
Spec Racer Ford, Cliff White, Huntsville, Ala., SCCA Spec Racer Ford.
Super Touring Lite, Brian Laughlin, Tulsa, Okla., Mazda Miata.
Super Touring U, Anthony Simmers, Boulder, Colo., Volkswagen GTI.
Touring 1, Dan Goodman, Erie, Colo., BMW M3.
Touring 2, Michael Pettiford, Louisvelle, Colo., Chevrolet Corvette.
Touring 3, Derek Kulach, Albuquerque, N.M., Nissan 350Z.
Touring 4, Daniel Kalvar, Lakewood, Colo., Pontiac Solstice.

Image: Matt Reynolds won four times in two days, and leads the Spec Miata pack at Pueblo.
Credit: Rupert Berrington

More SCCA / SportsCar Magazine