PWC: MINI USA to sponsor Tyler Palmer

PWC: MINI USA to sponsor Tyler Palmer

SRO America

PWC: MINI USA to sponsor Tyler Palmer

By

MINI USA has announced that Tyler Palmer is the newest addition to the MINI Motorsports program. Palmer, a California native, will make his MINI Motorsports debut this weekend as the Pirelli World Challenge series makes its first trip to Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Ala.

Last season, Palmer made a total of eight trips to the podium in his nine Pirelli World Challenge starts, including third place and runner-up finishes at Sonoma. In the same year, the then 19-year-old driver claimed fourth and second-place finishes in Rounds 9 & 10 at Mid-Ohio. The rookie also capped off a remarkable 2013 season with a pair of wins at Houston.

“Tyler is a great addition to the MINI Motorsports family and will certainly add to the rich racing heritage that started back in 1964 with our first victory at the world famous Monte Carlo Rally,” said Chris Potgieter, Product Manager, MINI USA. “We look forward to an exciting season and to seeing MINI on the podium again this year!”

Palmer will race in a 2012 MINI Cooper Hardtop owned by MINI of Charleston Racing, the same MINI that was driven to the 2013 Pirelli World Challenge Championship last season by Robbie Davis.

Born and raised in San Diego, Palmer attends Mira Costa College in nearby Oceanside, Calif. When he’s not at the track, the aspiring racer enjoys dirt biking, surfing, golfing and working out. Palmer is also a go-kart racing instructor.

In addition to representing MINI USA on the track, Palmer will also make appearances at the MINI Performance Motoring School and the MINI Teen Motoring School with Miles Ahead at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Palmer will also make an appearance at this year’s “MINI Takes the States,” the cross-country rally for MINI owners that takes place every other year.

You can learn more about Tyler Palmer at http://www.TylerPalmerRacing.com and find him on Facebook at Facebook.com/TylerPalmerRacing.

Pirelli World Challenge at Barber Motorsports Park

Television (on NBC Sports Network): Saturday, May 10 – 4:00 PM (EDT)

Live Internet Telecast (on http://www.world-challengeTV.com):

Saturday, April 26 3:25 P.M. CDT / 4:25 P.M. EDT (Before back to back races)
Sunday, April 27 10:30 A.M. CDT / 11:30 A.M. EDT (Before GT/GT-A/GTS Race)
Sunday, April 27 4:30 P.M. CDT / 5:30 P.M. EDT (Before TC/TCA/TCB Race)

More RACER