Rio replaces Hong Kong in Formula E

Rio replaces Hong Kong in Formula E


Rio replaces Hong Kong in Formula E


Rio de Janeiro has reclaimed a slot on the inaugural Formula E calendar, replacing Hong Kong.

The FIA approved the final schedule for the 2014/5 all-electric series at its World Motor Sport Council meeting on Wednesday.

Rio was one of the cities originally earmarked for a Formula E race, but it did not make the cut when the provisional calendar was published in September.

It has now made it back in, taking Hong Kong’s place as round three of the street track-based series.

Formula E kicks off in Beijing in September next year. It features a round in Monte Carlo a fortnight before the Formula 1 race, and will also visit London for the season finale in June 2015.

Series chief Alejandro Agag said: “It’s a great feeling to be able to confirm our calendar for the inaugural Formula E season and we’re very thankful to all the cities, and candidate cities, for showing their commitment to sustainable mobility.

“We’re confident our final 10 cities will provide an array of fantastic backdrops to showcase electric cars in their favored urban environments, as well as allow us to put on a great spectacle for the fans.”

2014/15 Formula E Calendar:

September 13 2014  Beijing (CN)October 18 2014    Putrajaya (MAL)November 15 2014   Rio de Janeiro (BR)December 13 2014   Punta del Este (UY)January 10 2015    Buenos Aires (RA)February 14 2015   Los Angeles (USA)March 14 2015      Miami (USA)May 9 2015         Monte Carlo (MC)May 30 2015        Berlin (D)June 27 2015       London (GB)