Marciello unbeatable in FR3.5 test

Marciello unbeatable in FR3.5 test

Formula 3.5 V8

Marciello unbeatable in FR3.5 test


Ferrari junior Raffaele Marciello completed his dominance of Formula Renault 3.5 testing by topping the times at Aragon on the third and final day.

The Formula 3 European champion, who switched from Strakka Racing to Arden Caterham for Friday, set his best time toward the end of the day, putting him one thousandth of a second clear of morning pacesetter Marlon Stockinger.

In setting the morning pace Stockinger became the first driver all week other than Marciello to top one of the half-day sessions.

The top three was completed by Formula Renault Eurocup runner-up Oliver Rowland, who has been a front-runner all week with Fortec Motorsports.

“Everything went perfectly,” said Rowland. “I think we could have come away with the best time if we had managed to bolt new tires on at the end of the morning. We’ve made a lot of progress in these tests, and I’ve learned so much with every lap.”

Next up were 2013 FR3.5 podium finishers Will Stevens and Sergey Sirotkin, who were both in action for the teams they raced for (Strakka and ISR) this year.

Marciello’s dominance of this week’s testing was underlined by the combined times from the three days, where his best lap from day two was nearly half a second clear of his nearest challenger. That honor went to Carlos Sainz Jr., with Rowland another three tenths back.

The next FR3.5 test, also taking place at Aragon, starts on Feb. 25.

Morning timesPos Driver                  Team              Time      Gap      Laps 1. Marlon Stockinger       Lotus             1m39.816s           54 2. Oliver Rowland          Fortec            1m39.881s  +0.065s  30 3. Will Stevens            Strakka           1m39.938s  +0.122s  55 4. Raffaele Marciello      Arden             1m40.012s  +0.196s  40 5. Pietro Fantin           Draco             1m40.161s  +0.345s  45 6. Zoel Amberg             Arden             1m40.173s  +0.357s  41 7. Sergey Sirotkin         ISR               1m40.235s  +0.419s  40 8. Nikolay Martsenko       AV Formula        1m40.249s  +0.433s  45 9. Nick Yelloly            Carlin            1m40.377s  +0.561s  4610. Carlos Sainz Jr.        DAMS              1m40.433s  +0.617s  2911. Dean Stoneman           Carlin            1m40.467s  +0.651s  3512. Nico Muller             Comtec            1m40.549s  +0.733s  4213. Norman Nato             DAMS              1m40.606s  +0.790s  3814. Jazeman Jaafar          Lotus             1m40.620s  +0.804s  2515. Matias Laine            Strakka           1m40.697s  +0.881s  4416. Marco Sorensen          Tech 1            1m40.789s  +0.973s  3917. Roman Mavlanov          Zeta Corse        1m40.821s  +1.005s  3718. Riccardo Agostini       Pons              1m40.854s  +1.038s  4319. Andrea Pizzitola        AV Formula        1m41.173s  +1.357s  3520. Kimiya Sato             Pons              1m41.673s  +1.857s  4421. William Buller          Tech 1            1m41.807s  +1.991s  4422. Meindert van Buuren     Draco             1m42.759s  +2.943s  3623. Jordan Oon              Zeta Corse        1m44.039s  +4.223s  32Afternoon timesPos Driver                  Team              Time      Gap      Laps 1. Raffaele Marciello      Arden             1m39.815s           35 2. Carlos Sainz Jr.        DAMS              1m39.890s  +0.075s  36 3. Sergey Sirotkin         ISR               1m39.940s  +0.125s  38 4. Will Stevens            Strakka           1m40.069s  +0.254s  44 5. Marlon Stockinger       Lotus             1m40.182s  +0.367s  38 6. Nick Yelloly            Carlin            1m40.185s  +0.370s  33 7. Oliver Rowland          Fortec            1m40.220s  +0.405s  42 8. Zoel Amberg             Arden             1m40.311s  +0.496s  35 9. Dean Stoneman           Carlin            1m40.333s  +0.518s  3610. Pietro Fantin           Draco             1m40.338s  +0.523s  3111. Jazeman Jaafar          Lotus             1m40.354s  +0.539s  4612. Norman Nato             DAMS              1m40.573s  +0.758s  3213. Matias Laine            Strakka           1m40.638s  +0.823s  2814. Riccardo Agostini       Pons              1m40.725s  +0.910s  4415. Nico Muller             Comtec            1m40.787s  +0.972s  3016. Andrea Pizzitola        AV Formula        1m40.813s  +0.998s  1917. Roman Mavlanov          Zeta Corse        1m41.169s  +1.354s  2818. Marco Sorensen          Tech 1            1m41.186s  +1.371s  3119. Kimiya Sato             Pons              1m41.328s  +1.513s  4320. Meindert van Buuren     Draco             1m41.366s  +1.551s  3121. William Buller          Tech 1            1m41.396s  +1.581s  4722. Jordan Oon              Zeta Corse        1m42.980s  +3.165s  2623. Nikolay Martsenko       AV Formula        no time