Toyota gets win as Fuji WEC abandoned

Toyota gets win as Fuji WEC abandoned


Toyota gets win as Fuji WEC abandoned


Victory in the Fuji round of the World Endurance Championship went to Toyota after the race was red-flagged for a third and final time.

The red flags came out when the lead cars were halfway around the opening lap after the second restart. The call means that all 16 laps of the weather-affected event were run behind the safety car.

Half-points will be awarded for the event and it is likely, but not confirmed, that all the drivers in each car will score whether or not they drove.

Victory was taken by the Toyota TS030 Hybrid driven by Kazuki Nakajima, whose teammates were Nicolas Lapierre and Alex Wurz.

Second place went to the championship-leading Audi driven by Loic Duval, who was sharing the car with Allan McNish and Tom Kristensen.

Nakajima moved into the lead after the initial restart when the pole-winning Audi R18 e-tron quattro driven by Andre Lotterer pitted for the first of a series of stops to cure an engine pick-up problem.

Toyota’s win did not stop Audi from collecting the manufacturers’ title. The German firm now heads the standings by more than the 52 points available over the final two events.

LMP2 was won by the OAK Racing Morgan-Nissan LMP2 of Bertrand Baguette, Martin Plowman and Ricardo Gonzalez.

GTE Pro honors went to the Aston Martin Vantage GTE driven by Frederic Makowiecki, who joined Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke for this event.

Aston also took GTE Am honors with the Vantage shared by Bruno Senna, Christoffer Nygaard and Kristian Poulsen.

Results - 16 laps/multiple red flags:Pos  Cl     Drivers                         Team/Car                    Time/Gap 1.  P1     Wurz/Lapierre/Nakajima          Toyota                  2h56m05.785s 2.  P1     Kristensen/Duval/McNish         Audi                         +1.901s 3.  P1     Belicchi/Beche                  Rebellion Lola-Toyota        +1.971s 4.  P2     Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman       OAK Morgan-Nissan            +2.259s 5.  P2     Rusinov/Martin/Conway           Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan       +2.093s 6.  P2     Hiranaka/Ueda/Wirdheim          Greaves Zytek-Nissan         +2.831s 7.  P2     Pla/Heinemeier Hansson/Brundle  OAK Morgan-Nissan           +12.834s 8.  P2     Graves/Walker/Nakano            Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan      +15.323s 9.  P2     Bradley/Koizumi/Matsuda         KCMG Morgan-Nissan          +19.569s10.  P2     Perez Companc/Minassian/Kaffer  Pecom ORECA-Nissan          +21.494s11.  P2     Holzer/Kraihamer/Charouz        Lotus                       +23.803s12.  P2     Nicolet/Ihara                   OAK Morgan-Nissan           +35.657s13.  GTE P  Turner/Mucke/Makowiecki         Aston Martin                +38.900s14.  GTE P  Bruni/Fisichella                AF Ferrari                  +41.944s15.  GTE P  Bergmeister/Pilet               Manthey Porsche             +44.855s16.  GTE P  Lieb/Lietz                      Manthey Porsche             +55.311s17.  GTE A  Nygaard/Poulsen/Senna           Aston Martin                +57.668s18.  GTE A  Hall/Campbell-Walter/Adam       Aston Martin              +1m01.641s19.  GTE A  Ried/Roda/Ruberti               Proton Porsche            +1m03.537s20.  GTE A  Potolicchio/Aguas/Rigon         8Star Ferrari             +1m05.951s21.  GTE P  Kobayashi/Vilander              AF Ferrari                +1m15.544s22.  GTE A  Narac/Vernay/Palttala           Imsa Porsche              +1m25.904s23.  P2     Weeda/Rossiter/Liuzzi           Lotus                     +1m40.976s24.  GTE A  Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani           Krohn Ferrari             +1m46.314s25.  GTE A  Gerber/Griffin/Cioci            AF Ferrari                +2m21.643s26.  P1     Lotterer/Treluyer/Fassler       Audi                      +2m49.150s27.  P1     Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin         Toyota                        +1 lap28.  GTE P  Lamy/Stanaway                   Aston Martin                  +1 lap29.  GTE A  Bornhauser/Canal/Rees           Larbre Corvette              +2 laps

MX-5 Cup | Watkins Glen – Round 8