Campos to return to GP2 in 2014

Campos to return to GP2 in 2014

Formula 2

Campos to return to GP2 in 2014


Campos will return to the GP2 Series from 2014 in place of Addax, the series has announced.

This year’s 12 other teams have all been retained for the next four-year cycle, with series boss Bruno Michel saying that interest from prospective new teams was turned down in favor of retaining the existing squads.

“We’re very happy to announce our lineup for the next three years,” Michel said. “As usual, we received high quality requests from new teams who wished to join our series. However, as we did in the past, we decided to show loyalty to the existing teams who have done a very good job in a difficult economic environment.”

Campos was part of GP2’s inaugural season in 2005 and stayed until 2008, when it won the teams’ championship and took Lucas di Grassi to third in the drivers’ standings. Adrian Campos decided to step down as team principal at the end of the year, however, selling his stake to Alejandro Agag.

The team was rebranded as Addax and went on to clinch the 2011 team’s title with current Formula 1 Caterham teammates Charles Pic and Giedo van der Garde. Reports in Spain suggest that Campos has now bought the team back from Agag.

“We are pleased to welcome back Adrian Campos to GP2,” Michel added, “and I would like to thank Alejandro Agag for his involvement in our series. I wish Alejandro all the best in his next challenge.”

Agag is the boss of the new Formula E championship, which will race at 10 city centers in its inaugural season next year.

2014 GP2 team entry list:

Arden International
ART Grand Prix
Campos Racing
EQ8 Caterham Racing
Hilmer Motorsport
MP Motorsport
Racing Engineering
Russian Time
Venezuela GP Lazarus