Harvick claims Kansas pole

Harvick claims Kansas pole

Cup Series

Harvick claims Kansas pole


Kevin Harvick boosted his NASCAR Sprint Cup Chase prospects by qualifying on pole for this weekend’s race at Kansas Speedway.

Richard Childress Chevrolet driver Harvick moved to the top of the leaderboard two-thirds of the way through the session, with a time of 28.796s. There was little movement at the sharp end after that, although Joey Logano and Paul Menard did haul themselves inside the top 10 in fifth and eighth respectively.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. led for Hendrick after the first batch of drivers set a time but a strong run from Roush Fenway’s Ricky Stenhouse Jr broke the 29s barrier for the first time in the session. He looked set for pole until Harvick’s late effort, those two ending the session as the only drivers to go sub-29s.

Chase leader Matt Kenseth will start the race seventh, while Jimmie Johnson second to Kenseth at the moment will be buoyed after qualifying second. Kyle Busch, third in the points, could only manage 18th.

Pos  Driver                 Team/Car                     Time     Gap 1.  Kevin Harvick          Childress Chevrolet          28.796s 2.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr     Roush Fenway Ford            28.803s  +0.007s 3.  Jimmie Johnson         Hendrick Chevrolet           28.852s  +0.056s 4.  Joey Logano            Penske Ford                  29.006s  +0.210s 5.  Dale Earnhardt Jr      Hendrick Chevrolet           29.021s  +0.225s 6.  Matt Kenseth           Joe Gibbs Toyota             29.049s  +0.253s 7.  Paul Menard            Childress Chevrolet          29.052s  +0.256s 8.  Carl Edwards           Roush Fenway Ford            29.084s  +0.288s 9.  Denny Hamlin           Joe Gibbs Toyota             29.121s  +0.325s10.  Brian Vickers          Waltrip Toyota               29.123s  +0.327s11.  Juan Pablo Montoya     Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  29.148s  +0.352s12.  Martin Truex Jr        Waltrip Toyota               29.157s  +0.361s13.  Jeff Gordon            Hendrick Chevrolet           29.167s  +0.371s14.  Kasey Kahne            Hendrick Chevrolet           29.192s  +0.396s15.  Jeff Burton            Childress Chevrolet          29.201s  +0.405s16.  Ryan Newman            Code 3 Associates Chevrolet  29.248s  +0.452s17.  Kyle Busch             Joe Gibbs Toyota             29.252s  +0.456s18.  Kurt Busch             Furniture Row Chevrolet      29.272s  +0.476s19.  Aric Almirola          Petty Ford                   29.287s  +0.491s20.  Justin Allgaier        Brandt Chevrolet             29.331s  +0.535s21.  Clint Bowyer           Waltrip Toyota               29.391s  +0.595s22.  Mark Martin            Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       29.401s  +0.605s23.  Jamie McMurray         Cessna Chevrolet             29.447s  +0.651s24.  Marcos Ambrose         Petty Ford                   29.497s  +0.701s25.  Greg Biffle            Roush Fenway Ford            29.54 s  +0.744s26.  AJ Allmendinger        JTG Daugherty Toyota         29.584s  +0.788s27.  David Reutimann        BK Toyota                    29.599s  +0.803s28.  Danica Patrick         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       29.664s  +0.868s29.  Cole Whitt             Swan Toyota                  29.667s  +0.871s30.  Michael McDowell       Parsons Ford                 29.675s  +0.879s31.  David Ragan            Front Row Ford               29.677s  +0.881s32.  JJ Yeley               Baldwin Chevrolet            29.678s  +0.882s33.  David Gilliland        Front Row Ford               29.688s  +0.892s34.  Timmy Hill             FAS Lane Ford                29.696s  +0.900s35.  Travis Kvapil          BK Toyota                    29.698s  +0.902s36.  Casey Mears            GEICO Ford                   29.729s  +0.933s37.  Josh Wise              Front Row Ford               29.898s  +1.102s38.  Joe Nemechek           NEMCO Toyota                 29.921s  +1.125s39.  Brad Keselowski        Penske Ford                  29.996s  +1.200s40.  Reed Sorenson          Leavine Ford                 30.001s  +1.205s41.  Dave Blaney            Baldwin Chevrolet            30.026s  +1.230s42.  Tony Raines            Hillman Chevrolet            30.082s  +1.286s43.  Landon Cassill         Circle Sport Chevrolet       30.294s  +1.498s