Team Rosberg wants Formula E slot

Team Rosberg wants Formula E slot

Formula E

Team Rosberg wants Formula E slot


Audi DTM team Team Rosberg is planning an assault on the inaugural Formula E championship when it begins next September.

Arno Zensen’s squad, which has centered its motorsport activities around the DTM for the past decade, has applied to enter the series for electric vehicles, but is unsure of being granted one of the coveted spots.

“It’s no secret that it’s something that’s very interesting to us,” Zensen said. “I was at the launch event in Germany and we have lodged our application to enter the series.

“To be honest, I don’t know if the application will be successful. It’s up to the organizers to decide if we’re the kind of team they want or not. We should know whether we’re in by the end of October, so fingers crossed.”

Four teams have been announced for the series so far; IndyCar teams Andretti Autosport and Dragon Racing, former Le Mans competitor Drayson Racing and a new organization, China Racing.

Should Rosberg be granted an entry, it would mark a return to open-wheel competition for the first time since 2006.

However, Zensen  denied rumors linking the Rosberg squad to a program in Formula 4, which is likely to adopted as a successor to ADAC Formel Masters in Germany in 2015.

“We have enough on our plates right now,” he said.


Although synonymous with the DTM having been founded in late 1994 to run one of Opel’s pairs of Calibras the following year for Keke Rosberg and Klaus Ludwig Team Rosberg has a healthy single-seater pedigree.

Its first foray into open-wheel cars came in 1998 when, alongside its campaign with Nissans in German Super Touring, it launched a team in the BMW ADAC Junior Cup, the forerunner to Formula BMW.

Having run Pierre Kaffer, Christian Klien and Kimmo Liimatainen now Rosberg’s DTM team manager impressively for a number of seasons in both Formula BMW and Formula 3 in Germany, the squad’s finest hour came in 2002 when it won both championships with, respectively, Nico Rosberg and Gary Paffett.

Its entry in the F3 Euro Series, which merged the German and French championships in 2003, brought future Formula 1 racers Rosberg and Giedo van der Garde into the limelight; the former finishing second in the end of-season Bahrain Superprix in ’04 behind now Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton.

Its final fling came in the inaugural A1GP season in 2005-’06 as the brains behind Team Austria.

With an unspectacular driver lineup of Mathias Lauda and (occasionally) Patrick Friesacher, results were hard to come by and the team now partnered with Audi in the DTM refocused its efforts in theseries and in GT racing with the R8 LMS.