Turvey gives Jota ELMS pole at Paul Ricard

Turvey gives Jota ELMS pole at Paul Ricard


Turvey gives Jota ELMS pole at Paul Ricard


Jota Zytek driver Oliver Turvey took his fourth European Le Mans Series pole position of the season at Paul Ricard.

Turvey claimed pole and the single championship point that comes with it aboard his Zytek-Nissan Z11SN after a fierce battle with Brendon Hartley in the Murphy Prototypes ORECA. A best lap of 1m48.043s put the Jota car almost exactly one tenth ahead of Hartley’s ORECA-Nissan 03, although Turvey posted two laps good enough for the pole.

Turvey, who shares the Jota Zytek with Simon Dolan, said: “Brendon and I were trading fastest times. I was only four hundredths ahead at one point, but I really wanted it and was able to go a little bit faster.”

The two entries that go into this afternoon’s three-hour ELMS finale equal on points share the second row. TDS Racing ORECA-Nissan driver Mathias Beche pipped Nelson Panciatici in the Alpine-liveried Signatech version by just two tenths of a second to take third position.

Matt Griffin took GTE pole position for the Ram Racing Ferrari squad after edging out Andrea Bertolini in the JMW Ferrari by just one tenth of a second.

Mika Salo was fastest in the GTC class for GT3 machinery aboard the best of the SMP Racing Ferraris, while Paul-Loup Chatin topped the times in the one-make LMPC prototype division.

Pos Cat  Drivers                       Team/Car                    Time 1. P2   Dolan/Turvey                  Jota Zytek-Nissan           1m48.043s 2. P2   Hartley/Hirschi               Murphy ORECA-Nissan         1m48.140s 3. P2   Thiriet/Beche                 TDS ORECA-Nissan            1m48.974s 4. P2   Ragues/Panciatici             Signatech Alpine-Nissan     1m49.102s 5. P2   Gachnang/Klien                Morand Morgan-Judd          1m49.148s 6. P2   Hartshorne/Kapadia/Al-Mudhaf  Boutsen ORECA-Nissan        1m49.360s 7. P2   Frey/Niederhauser             Race Peformance ORECA-Judd  1m50.918s 8. P2   Mediani/Zlobin                Oreca-Nissan                1m51.031s 9. PC   Chatin/Hirsch                 Endurance FLM               1m52.052s10. PC   Pons/Ayari                    Endurance FLM               1m54.611s11. GTE  Mowlem/Griffin                Ram Ferrari                 1m55.374s12. GTE  Bertolini/Camathias           JMW Ferrari                 1m55.427s13. GTE  Perazzini/Cioci/Leo           AF Ferrari                  1m55.879s14. GTE  Jeannette/Montecalvo          Ram Ferrari                 1m56.132s15. GTE  Ried/Bachler/Tandy            Proton Porsche              1m56.390s16. GTC  Salo/Rotenberg/Ladygin        SMP/Ferrari                 1m57.012s17. GTC  Babini/Shaitar/Ladygin        SMP Ferrari                 1m57.038s18. GTE  Milesi/Vernay                 IMSA Porsche                1m57.212s19. GTE  Perrodo/Collard               Prospeed Porsche            1m57.847s20. GTC  Hiesse/Mezard                 Villorba Ferrari            1m57.866s21. GTC  Markozov/Persiani/Frolov      SMP Ferrari                 1m57.952s22. GTC  Rizzoli/Gai/Case              AF Ferrari                  1m58.097s23. GTC  Kox/Pronk/Retera              Kox Lamborghini             1m58.185s24. GTE  Mallegol/Bachelier/Blank      AF Ferrari                  1m58.381s25. GTC  Millroy/McCaig/Twyman         Ecosse BMW                  1m58.944s26. GTC  Accary/Lecuyer/Enjalbert      DKR BMW                     2m00.273s