Newman claims Loudon Cup pole

Newman claims Loudon Cup pole

Cup Series

Newman claims Loudon Cup pole


Ryan Newman surged to pole for the New Hampshire NASCAR Sprint Cup race with a run late in qualifying.

It looked unlikely that anyone would topple Kasey Kahne from his provisional pole position for most of the afternoon. But Newman’s Stewart-Haas Chevrolet emerged from the qualifying line late in the session and did two laps good enough for pole. His best of 27.904 seconds and 136.497mph edged out Kahne’s Hendrick Chevrolet by 0.085sec.

Jeff Gordon was one of the remaining threats to Newman, though that seemed unlikely when his first lap was only good enough for 23rd. The Hendrick man’s second lap was far quicker, taking him to third ahead of Kurt Busch.

Martin Truex Jr. gave his troubled Michael Waltrip Racing team a slight lift by qualifying fifth, ahead of Joey Logano. Childress duo Paul Menard and Kevin Harvick fill row five, ahead of championship leader Matt Kenseth and Greg Biffle.

The latter was the only one of the Roush Fenway trio to run strongly. Carl Edwards and Ricky Stenhouse Jr start way down in 26th and 31st places.

Veteran Kenny Wallace stood in for Brian Vickers, while the Waltrip driver was on Nationwide duty at Kentucky and was 26th fastest.

Several driver line-ups in the lower half of the field have been shuffled for this weekend. Most notable changes were Michael McDowell moving from Phil Parsons Racing to Phoenix Racing and qualifying 27th, while rookie driver Kevin Swindell made his Cup debut for Swan and claimed 33rd.

Josh Wise failed to set a time after his Front Row Ford blew a tyre and crashed.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                     Time     Gap 1.  Ryan Newman         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       27.904s 2.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet           27.989s  +0.085s 3.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet           27.995s  +0.091s 4.  Kurt Busch          Furniture Row Chevrolet      28.033s  +0.129s 5.  Martin Truex Jr     Waltrip Toyota               28.081s  +0.177s 6.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford                  28.104s  +0.200s 7.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet          28.117s  +0.213s 8.  Kevin Harvick       Childress Chevrolet          28.128s  +0.224s 9.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota             28.136s  +0.232s10.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford            28.170s  +0.266s11.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet           28.187s  +0.283s12.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota             28.193s  +0.289s13.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                   28.198s  +0.294s14.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota             28.209s  +0.305s15.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  28.216s  +0.312s16.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota               28.236s  +0.332s17.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet           28.323s  +0.419s18.  Mark Martin         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       28.335s  +0.431s19.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford               28.362s  +0.458s20.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                  28.378s  +0.474s21.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       28.383s  +0.479s22.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                   28.396s  +0.492s23.  Jamie McMurray      Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  28.428s  +0.524s24.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford               28.468s  +0.564s25.  Jeff Burton         Childress Chevrolet          28.473s  +0.569s26.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford            28.501s  +0.597s27.  Michael McDowell    Phoenix Chevrolet            28.520s  +0.616s28.  Bobby Labonte       JTG Daugherty Toyota         28.526s  +0.622s29.  Kenny Wallace       Waltrip Toyota               28.550s  +0.646s30.  Travis Kvapil       BK Toyota                    28.573s  +0.669s31.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford            28.577s  +0.673s32.  Landon Cassill      Hillman Chevrolet            28.601s  +0.697s33.  Kevin Swindell      Swan Toyota                  28.775s  +0.871s34.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                 28.804s  +0.900s35.  David Reutimann     BK Toyota                    28.811s  +0.907s36.  Joe Nemechek        NEMCO Toyota                 28.819s  +0.915s37.  JJ Yeley            Baldwin Chevrolet            28.835s  +0.931s38.  Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet            28.844s  +0.940s39.  Tony Raines         Circle Sport Chevrolet       28.965s  +1.061s40.  Scott Riggs         Leavine Ford                 29.067s  +1.163s41.  Johnny Sauter       Parsons Ford                 29.161s  +1.257s42.  Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford                29.579s  +1.675s43.  Josh Wise           Front Row Ford