Power leads first Baltimore IndyCar practice

Power leads first Baltimore IndyCar practice


Power leads first Baltimore IndyCar practice


Penske’s Will Power opened this weekend’s IndyCar Series round in Baltimore by going fastest in the opening practice session.

Power’s best time of 1m20.8632s came on his final timed lap, and put him 0.2 seconds ahead of Andretti driver EJ Viso. Prior to his final run, the Australian’s major impact on the session had been a near-miss with the barriers after being launched off the exit of the chicane.

Oriol Servia, Graham Rahal and Scott Dixon completed the top three on a morning punctuated twice by red flags. The first came when Stefan Wilson, making his debut in the second Dale Coyne Racing entry, went off the road at Turn 5, and the second was triggered a short time later by debris.

Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Dario Franchitti was restricted to just five laps after his car developed a sensor problem.

Pos  Driver               Team/Engine      Time        Gap 1.  Will Power           Penske/Chevy     1m20.8632s 2.  EJ Viso              Andretti/Chevy   1m21.1256s  +0.2624s 3.  Oriol Servia         Panther/Chevy    1m21.2977s  +0.4345s 4.  Graham Rahal         Rahal/Honda      1m21.3134s  +0.4502s 5.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi/Honda    1m21.3247s  +0.4615s 6.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher/Honda     1m21.4165s  +0.5533s 7.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt/Honda    1m21.4521s  +0.5889s 8.  Tristan Vautier      Schmidt/Honda    1m21.4625s  +0.5993s 9.  Marco Andretti       Andretti/Chevy   1m21.5462s  +0.6830s10.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon/Chevy     1m21.5508s  +0.6876s11.  James Jakes          Rahal/Honda      1m21.6477s  +0.7845s12.  Helio Castroneves    Penske/Chevy     1m21.7964s  +0.9332s13.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti/Chevy   1m21.8010s  +0.9378s14.  Justin Wilson        Coyne/Honda      1m21.8058s  +0.9426s15.  Takuma Sato          Foyt/Honda       1m21.8487s  +0.9855s16.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi/Honda    1m21.8769s  +1.0137s17.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti/Chevy   1m22.1269s  +1.2637s18.  Sebastian Saavedra   Dragon/Chevy     1m22.1411s  +1.2779s19.  Tony Kanaan          KV/Chevy         1m22.1730s  +1.3098s20.  Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy         1m22.3078s  +1.4446s21.  Luca Filippi         Herta/Honda      1m22.5895s  +1.7263s22.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi/Honda    1m23.4799s  +2.6167s23.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter/Chevy  1m24.8443s  +3.9811s24.  Stefan Wilson        Coyne/Honda      1m25.2797s  +4.4165sAll drivers use Dallara DW12 chassis

MX-5 Cup | Round 1 – Daytona | Livestream