Signatech Alpine loses Spielberg pole

Signatech Alpine loses Spielberg pole


Signatech Alpine loses Spielberg pole


The Signatech Alpine team has had its European Le Mans Series pole position taken away due to Nelson Panciatici setting his best lap under yellow flags at Spielberg.

Panciatici stole pole position from Jota’s Oliver Turvey in the final seconds of qualifying on Saturday morning, but he did so while yellow flags were waving for a car in the gravel at Turn 6.

The stewards of the meeting have taken away all of the No. 36 car’s times and moved it to the back of the LMP2 field, meaning Panciatici and Pierre Ragues will line up eighth.

Panciatici’s teammate Pierre Ragues said: “Nelson did a great job to put us on pole so it is disappointing to have suffered the penalty. Nevertheless, it has been a very good weekend for us so far. We will now focus on the race and putting the qualifying decision behind us.”

The revised grid means Turvey and Simon Dolan’s Jota Zytek-Nissan will share the front row of the grid with the Murphy Prototypes Oreca-Nissan of Brendon Hartley and Jonathan Hirschi.

Five other cars were also penalised after qualifying for failing to respect track limits on the Austrian circuit — and all had their best three qualifying laps taken away.

Those affected were the #37 SMP Racing Oreca-Nissan, the #47 and #49 Team Endurance Challenge LMPC cars, the #53 Ram Racing Ferrari, and the #60 Kox Racing Lamborghini.

Revised grid:

Pos Cl   Drivers                        Team/Car 1. P2   Dolan/Turvey                   Jota Zytek-Nissan 2. P2   Hartley/Patterson              Murphy ORECA-Nissan 3. P2   Thiriet/Beche                  TDS ORECA-Nissan 4. P2   Gachnang/Mailleux              Morand Morgan-Judd 5. P2   Frey/Niederhauser              Race Peformance ORECA-Judd 6. P2   Kraihamer/Holzer               Boutsen ORECA-Nissan 7. P2   Mediani/Zlobin                 Oreca-Nissan 8. P2   Ragues/Panciatici              Signatech Alpine-Nissan 9. PC   Jones/Catsburg                 Algarve FLM10. PC   Loan/Verdonck                  Endurance FLM11. PC   Chatin/Hirsch                  Endurance FLM12. PC   Pons/Ayari                     Endurance FLM13. GTE  Ried/Roda/Tandy                Proton Porsche14. GTE  Bertolini/Camathias            JMW Ferrari15. GTE  Mowlem/Griffin                 Ram Ferrari16. GTE  Milesi/Vernay                  IMSA Porsche17. GTE  Perrodo/Collard                Prospeed Porsche18. GTE  Jeannette/Montecalvo           Ram Ferrari19. GTE  Perazzini/Cioci/Leo            AF Ferrari20. GTC  Markozov/Persiani/Frolov       SMP Ferrari21. GTC  Babini/Shaitar/Ladygin         SMP Ferrari22. GTC  Rizzoli/Gai/Case               AF Ferrari23. GTE  Mallegol/Bachelier/Blank       AF Ferrari24. GTE  Felbermayr/Felbermayr/Bachler  Proton Porsche25. GTC  Millroy/Smith/Twyman           Ecosse BMW26. GTC  Kox/Pronk                      Kox Lamborghini